Anyone can make a webpage. Do you want to find out about the Pacific Northwest Tree Octopus? Just click here! But this website is a hoax! Someone developed this website to show you how easy it is to put anything on the web.
When you do a Google search, you're searching about 10% of the information that's available on the web. This iceberg image shows that more information is available in the deep web, but it's information that has been evaluated. Usually you need a password to access information in the deep web, and that's what happens when you use library databases. Your OU ID is your password, so you have access to quality information through the library's website!
When you do a Google search, you're searching about 10% of the information that's available on the web. This iceberg image shows that more information is available in the deep web, but it's information that has been evaluated. Usually you need a password to access information in the deep web, and that's what happens when you use library databases. Your OU ID is your password, so you have access to quality information through the library's website!
Library OneSearch - use Library OneSearch when seeking interdisciplinary research. Click Newspapers to retrieve those since they don't appear in standard Library OneSearch results. For example, search "Royal Oak, Michigan" racial to find articles on racial incidents in Royal Oak.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
The premier full-text resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from Terrorism to Endangered Species, Stem Cell Research to Gun Control. Drawing on acclaimed series published by Greenhaven Press and other Gale imprints; brings together all the information that’s needed to fully understand an issue: pro and con viewpoint articles, reference articles that provide context, full-text magazines, academic journals, and newspapers, primary source documents, government and organizational statistics, multimedia, including images and podcasts, links to hand-selected web sites, and more! Thanks to MeL. How to export to RefWorks
JSTOR
Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately one year ago. Disciplines include botany, business, ecology, general science, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, and statistics. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. Especially good for historic or classic articles in most fields. Coverage: 1665 to present. How to export to RefWorks
Communication & Mass Media Complete
This resource "offers cover-to-cover (“core”) indexing and abstracts for more than 550 journals, and selected (“priority”) coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of 737 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for over 440 journals."
Opposing Viewpoints in Context The premier full-text resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from Terrorism to Endangered Species, Stem Cell Research to Gun Control. Drawing on acclaimed series published by Greenhaven Press and other Gale imprints; brings together all the information that’s needed to fully understand an issue: pro and con viewpoint articles, reference articles that provide context, full-text magazines, academic journals, and newspapers, primary source documents, government and organizational statistics, multimedia, including images and podcasts, links to hand-selected web sites, and more! Thanks to MeL. How to export to RefWorks
JSTOR Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately one year ago. Disciplines include botany, business, ecology, general science, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, and statistics. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. Especially good for historic or classic articles in most fields. Coverage: 1665 to present. How to export to RefWorks
Communication & Mass Media Complete This resource "offers cover-to-cover (“core”) indexing and abstracts for more than 550 journals, and selected (“priority”) coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of 737 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for over 440 journals."
Detroit Free Press Historical Covers several editions of the Detroit Free Press from 1831-1999.
Chicago Defender (Proquest Historical Newspapers) Covers several editions of the Chicago Defender newspaper from 1909-1975.
New York Times Historical Offers full-text, full-image articles of The New York Times, going back to 1851. The database can be used to search national and international news, editorials, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, plus historical photos and advertisements. The documents are downloadable in PDF format. How to export to RefWorks
Library OneSearch - Click Newspapers to retrieve those since they don't appear in standard Library OneSearch results. For example, search "Royal Oak, Michigan" racial to find articles on racial incidents in Royal Oak.
Making of America - is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.
AP Images - "is the world's largest collection of historical and contemporary photos." Source: AP Images website.
Smithsonian Institution Archives - Explores all 54,137 records that document the Smithsonian's people, events, buildings, exhibits, and research.
World Newsreels Online: 1929-1966
Streaming video capturing full runs of many of the key international newsreels produced during the early twentieth century.
See other primary resource material by viewing Professor Daniel's HST 4980 coursepage.
AP Images - "is the world's largest collection of historical and contemporary photos." Source: AP Images website.
Smithsonian Institution Archives - Explores all 54,137 records that document the Smithsonian's people, events, buildings, exhibits, and research.
World Newsreels Online: 1929-1966 Streaming video capturing full runs of many of the key international newsreels produced during the early twentieth century.
See other primary resource material by viewing Professor Daniel's HST 4980 coursepage.
FAQs - Frequently Asked Questions Find answers to frequent questions. Make suggestions for new FAQs, too!
Chat with a librarian: 24/7
In-Person Reference Assistance: make an appointment
Research Consultation - make an appointment for an individual session with a librarian for research assistance.
Email - send your question via email to ref@oakland.edu
Phone - 248.370.4426
Chat with a librarian: 24/7
In-Person Reference Assistance: make an appointment
Research Consultation - make an appointment for an individual session with a librarian for research assistance.
Email - send your question via email to ref@oakland.edu
Phone - 248.370.4426
Writing Resources for Students
Find in-depth information about the mechanics of writing, MLA/APA citations, avoiding plagiarism, and more.
Writing Center
The consultants can help you with every stage of the writing process.
Use Library OneSearch to see if we have access to a journal article. For example, if you needed the following article, you could search Library OneSearch by entering in a portion of the article title: "Flint water crisis an analysis"
- Flint water crisis: An analysis of public relations as a mediator between human and corporate persons, Public Relations Review, March 2018, Volume 44, Issue 1, pages 47-55.
If we don't have your article electronically or in-print, you can order the article through InterLibrary Loan using ILLiad. It's a free service but allow a couple of days for the article to become available.
- Use these six factors to evaluate your items.
- Evaluate sources using the CRAAP test.
- Scholarly vs popular sources - from NCSU library
- Library Guide to Fake News
Kristine Condic
Professor
salomon@oakland.edu
248.370.2469
Office: 236 Kresge Library
Contact me at: salomon@oakland.edu
Contact me at: salomon@oakland.edu