OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO Criminal Justice

Find Books

Library Catalog
Use the catalog to find books, videos, recordings, and goverment documents we have at the library.

MelCat
A statewide catalog of many of Michigan's libraries. It allows you to request books at another library be sent to Kresge Library for you.

Find Articles
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Thanks to Mel Academic OneFile
A huge and highly heterogeneous multidisciplinary mix of scholarly, journalistic, practitioner and popular sources, with much direct full-text included. Use the tabs to identify scholarly, newspaper or other sources as necessary. Thanks to MeL / How to export to RefWorks Coverage: 1980-present

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text
This database provides full-text access to international research related to the essential areas related to criminal justice and criminology. Coverage: 1910 - present.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Criminology: SAGE Full Text
Covers such subjects as Criminal Justice, Juvenile Delinquency, Juvenile Justice, Corrections, Penology, Policing, Forensic Psychology, and Family and Domestic Violence. How to export to RefWorks

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Expanded Academic ASAP
From arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology, this database meets research needs across all academic disciplines. Access scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers - many with full text and images. How to export to RefWorks

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Google Scholar
You can check the availability of article full text if you use our link to Google Scholar, which will ask you to log in with your OU NetID. How to export to RefWorks

See our guide to adding OU Libraries resources to Google Scholar
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL)
Over 92,800 documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management from a wide variety of sources including federal, state and local governments; international governments and institutions; nonprofit organizations and private entities.
ICPSR
Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) is the world's largest collection of digital social science data. These data can be used for secondary research, instructional activities, and to write articles, papers or theses.
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff InCites Journal Citation Reports
Provides citation data on journals, and includes virtually all areas of science, technology, and social sciences. Journal Citation Reports can show you the most frequently cited journals in a field and the highest impact journals in a field. The OU community has access to the Science edition and the Social Sciences edition of JCR.
Legal Information Institute
Access to US laws and court decisions including all US Supreme Court opinions since 1992, over 600 historic Court decisions, other state and federal court decisions, the US Code, congressional bills, topical libraries, directories, and other public legal information.
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Legal Periodicals & Books, Index to
International legal information covering all areas of jurisprudence; covers legal journals, yearbooks, institutes, bar association organs, law reviews, and government publications from in the United States, Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia, and New Zealand. 1981 to present.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Thanks to Mel LegalTrac
Provides indexing for approximately 875 titles including major law reviews, legal newspapers, bar association journals and international legal journals; also contains law-related articles from over 1,000 additional business and general interest titles. How to export to RefWorks

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff LexisNexis Academic Universe
NEWS: full text access to newspapers, magazines, trade journals, newsletters, news wires, and transcripts. News sources are never scholarly, but they can give you up-to-date information on current events.
BUSINESS: access to financial and business information for specific companies. It's most accurate when you limit your search by sources, such as Hoover's Company Reports, S&P Corporate Descriptions, American Marketplace, and Tax Analysts Publications.
LEGAL: you can search for legal information such as court decisions, legal codes, legal news, and law journals. The coverage includes information both at the state level and at the federal level. How to export to RefWorks

National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS)
Contains abstracts of more than 210,000 criminal justice, juvenile justice, and substance abuse resources housed in the NCJRS Library collection.
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Thanks to Mel Opposing Viewpoints in Context
The premier full-text resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from Terrorism to Endangered Species, Stem Cell Research to Gun Control. Drawing on acclaimed series published by Greenhaven Press and other Gale imprints; brings together all the information that’s needed to fully understand an issue: pro and con viewpoint articles, reference articles that provide context, full-text magazines, academic journals, and newspapers, primary source documents, government and organizational statistics, multimedia, including images and podcasts, links to hand-selected web sites, and more! How to export to RefWorks

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Oxford Bibliographies - Criminology
Offers exclusive, authoritative research guides, combining the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia.
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Social Sciences Citation Index Expanded
Provides indexing coverage of the journal literature in the social sciences, including sociology, anthropology, political science and economics. Also an excellent tool to determine who has cited an article. Coverage: 1900 - present. How to export to RefWorks
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Social Sciences Full Text
Includes full-text articles from over 300 journals, covering concepts, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences: 1983 - present. How to export to RefWorks

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Sociological Abstracts
This database abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Coverage: 1960 to present. How to export to RefWorks
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Sociology: SAGE FullText
Full text for scholarly articles published since 1960. How to export to RefWorks

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Urban Studies & Planning: SAGE Full Text
Full text articles in topics that will interest sociologists. Coverage: 1960 - present. How to export to RefWorks

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff PsycINFO
Need articles in psychology or counseling? Use PsycINFO! It's a great resource and is published by the American Psychological Association. How to export to RefWorks
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff JSTOR
Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately one year ago. Disciplines include botany, business, ecology, general science, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, and statistics. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. Especially good for historic or classic articles in most fields. Coverage: 1665 to present. How to export to RefWorks
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Social Services Abstracts
Indexes scholarly articles published since 1960; some are full text. How to export to RefWorks
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff PILOTS (Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress)
PILOTS "is produced at the headquarters of the National Center for Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder in White River Junction, Vermont. The PILOTS database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. Its goal is to include citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events, without disciplinary, linguistic, or geographical limitations, and to offer both current and retrospective coverage. How to export to RefWorks
Library Contact
Picture: Anne Zacharias

Anne Zacharias
Social Sciences & Outreach Librarian
switzer2@oakland.edu
248.370.2475

Library OneSearch
Find articles, books, etc...


e-Resources on Criminal Justice
Easily search for social sciences-focused e-Journals here and social sciences-focused eBooks here.

You can also browse e-Journals on criminal justice-specific topics here: Or, browse eBooks on criminal justice-specific topics here:
Research Assistance

Ask a Librarian
Ask a research question by phone, chat, email, or in person at the research help desk.

Research Consultation
Sign up online for an individual session with a librarian to get help with your research.

RefWorks

Refworks allows you to create a personal database of references and automatically generate formatted bibliographies for your projects.

Writing Help

Writing Resources for Students
Find in-depth information about the mechanics of writing, MLA/APA citations, avoiding plagiarism, and more.

Writing Center
The consultants can help you with every stage of the writing process.

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan
You may request materials we don't have and we'll borrow them from another library for you.

Pathfinders
Dan Ring, Public Services Librarian, created the following pathfinders, which may also be useful to your research: Juvenile Delinquency, Criminal Justice, Prisons, Women & Crime, White Collar Crime, Cybercrime, Surveillance Society, Race & Crime, Criminal Law & the Judiciary

You may also find this listing of open Criminal Justice resources and professional organizations/resources useful as you consider a career in the field.

Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News