OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO EC 6600 - Theories of Child Development and Education

Library Contact
Picture: Amanda Nichols Hess

Amanda Nichols Hess
Associate Professor
nichols@oakland.edu
248.370.2487

Office Hours: 248 Kresge Library
Tuesdays, 2-4pm
Wednesdays, 3-5pm
Feel free to stop by or contact me for an appointment
Developing Your Topic
Online Reference Materials
Use these resources to identify your topic / formalize your plan:
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Handbook of Research on the Education of Young Children
This is an essential reference on research in early childhood education not only in the United States but throughout the world. It provides a comprehensive overview of important contemporary issues and the information necessary to make judgments about these issues (2006).

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Key Concepts in Early Childhood Education and Care

Cathy Nutbrown, a leading academic in early childhood education, identifies and explains key terms and practices central to the work and study of early childhood in this accessible reference text.


Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Encyclopedia of Cross-Cultural School Psychology
"Five foundational topics provide an overall grounding for the more than 400 entries that follow. The content of these five chapters includes an overview of the history of cross-cultural school psychology in the United States, a review of cross-cultural competencies, discussion about disparities in school services, consideration of multicultural assessment tools, and future directions in the field of school psychology." (Preface)

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Elsevier's Dictionary of Psychological Theories
Accessible from Credo Reference, 2006 edition.

Find Books

Library Catalog
Use the catalog to find books, videos, recordings, and goverment documents we have at the library.

MelCat
A statewide catalog of many of Michigan's libraries. It allows you to request books at another library be sent to Kresge Library for you.

Finding Scholarly Information
Find Scholarly Articles
Use these resources to find articles for your annotated bibliography:
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff ERIC
This is the BEST PLACE to look when finding articles about education! ERIC contains over 1,100,000 items from 1966 through the present. How to export to RefWorks

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff PsycINFO
Need articles in psychology or counseling? Use PsycINFO! It's a great resource and is published by the American Psychological Association. How to export to RefWorks

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Education Full Text
Find articles on all areas of education. ERIC is more complete. How to export to RefWorks

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff JSTOR
Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately one year ago. Disciplines include botany, business, ecology, general science, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, and statistics. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. Especially good for historic or classic articles in most fields. Coverage: 1665 to present. How to export to RefWorks

You can also search OU Libraries for specific journals by title
Other Useful Library Resources
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print
A comprehensive guide and bibliography to contemporary testing instruments. Contains descriptive information (test purpose, publisher, pricing, population, and scores) and edited reviews written by leading content area experts. How to export to RefWorks

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Ulrich's Periodicals Directory
Is this journal peer-reviewed or refereed? Ulrich's will tell you!
Finding a Specific Article

To locate and retrieve articles or books that are cited in a bibliography or Works Cited page, use Library OneSearch or the Library Catalog to determine if Kresge Library has access to the item. For example, to find the article:

Werfel, K. L. & Schuele, C. M. (2012). Segmentation and representation of consonant blends in kindergarten children's spellings. Language, Speech, and Hearing Services in Schools, 43(3), 292-307.

The most direct ways to search are by:

  1. Title in Library OneSearch. Use the article title - Segmentation and representation of consonant blends in kindergarten children's spellings - not the title of the journal (Language, Speech, and Hearing Services in Schools).
  2. Journal Title in the Library Catalog.  Use the title of the journal - Language, Speech, and Hearing Services in Schools - NOT the title of the article.
The results of both searches indicate that the University Library has access to this article online.
Tools & Services
Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan
You may request materials we don't have and we'll borrow them from another library for you.

RefWorks

Refworks allows you to create a personal database of references and automatically generate formatted bibliographies for your projects.

Writing Help

Writing Resources for Students
Find in-depth information about the mechanics of writing, MLA/APA citations, avoiding plagiarism, and more.

Writing Center
The consultants can help you with every stage of the writing process.


Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News