Amanda Nichols Hess
Ask a Librarian
Ask a research question by phone, chat, email, or in person at the research help desk.
Sign up online for an individual session with a librarian to get help with your research.
Use the catalog to find books, videos, recordings, and goverment documents we have at the library.
A statewide catalog of many of Michigan's libraries. It allows you to request books at another library be sent to Kresge Library for you.
Includes education and related topics - journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs. How to export to RefWorks
Provides scholarly research and information for education students, professionals and policy makers. Covers all levels of education - from early childhood to higher education - and educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing.Thanks to MeL.
Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately one year ago. Disciplines include botany, business, ecology, general science, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, and statistics. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. Especially good for historic or classic articles in most fields. Coverage: 1665 to present. How to export to RefWorks
Need articles in psychology or counseling? Use PsycINFO! It's a great resource and is published by the American Psychological Association. How to export to RefWorks
Cambridge Encyclopedia of Child Development
This is an is an authoritative, accessible and up-to-date account of all aspects of child development. Written by an international team of experts, it adopts an interdisciplinary approach and covers everything from prenatal development to education, pediatrics, neuroscience, theories and research methods to physical development, social development, cognitive development, psychopathology and parenting (2005).
Handbook of Research on the Education of Young Children
This is an essential reference on research in early childhood education not only in the United States but throughout the world. It provides a comprehensive overview of important contemporary issues and the information necessary to make judgments about these issues (2006).
Key Concepts in Early Childhood Education and Care
Cathy Nutbrown, a leading academic in early childhood education, identifies and explains key terms and practices central to the work and study of early childhood in this accessible reference text.
Encyclopedia of Special Education
The third edition (2007) of the highly acclaimed Encyclopedia of Special Education offers a thoroughly revised, comprehensive A to Z compilation of authoritative information on the education of those with special needs.
Higher Education: Handbook of Theory and Research
This annual ebook provides an overview of the latest research in the field of higher education.
International Handbook of Comparative Education, 2009
International Handbook of Educational Policy, 2005
International Handbook of Virtual Learning Environments, 2006
Praeger handbook of Latino Education in the U.S., 2007
Access the online version of this classic series: The Handbook of Reading Research:
Technology & Training
Handbook of Research on Educational Communications and Technology, 2004
Handbook of Technical and Vocational Education and Training Research, 2009
Learning Design: A Handbook on Modelling and Delivering Networked Education and Training, 2005
Ourselves, why we are who we are : a handbook for educators, 2006
This database is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world. It includes materials from 1861 to the present day. How to export to RefWorks
Dissertations and Theses @ OU
Full text access to Oakland University dissertations and theses. How to export to RefWorks
Web of Science
Web of Science provides access to Science Citation Index (SCI), Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) and Arts and Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI). These indexes contain references that have been cited in other articles. You can use these citations to perform cited reference searches (locate articles that cite an earlier publication). How to export to RefWorks.
You can check the availability of article full text if you use our link to Google Scholar, which will ask you to log in with your OU NetID. How to export to RefWorks
A comprehensive guide and bibliography to contemporary testing instruments. Contains descriptive information (test purpose, publisher, pricing, population, and scores) and edited reviews written by leading content area experts. How to export to RefWorks
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI)
Provides access to article citations containing information on measurement instruments (questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/ manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science. HaPI assists researchers, practitioners, educators, administrators, and evaluators, including students, to identify measures needed for research studies, grant proposals, client/patient assessment, class papers/projects, theses/dissertations, and program evaluation.
A research database that provides access to psychological tests, measures, scales, and other assessments as well as descriptive and administrative information.
Full-text of book reviews for children's books from 1993 to the present.
Horn Book Guide Online
NoveList K8 Plus
Find a book by subject, age, awards won, Lexile Reading levels, Common Core standards, books made into movies, and more. Read reviews and learn about the author. Thanks to MeL.
Something About the Author
This title "spotlights more than 12,000 individuals in entries that typically cover personal life, career, writings, adaptations, and additional sources."
Teaching Books.net includes thousands of resources about fiction and nonfiction books used in the K–12 environment. It is designed to be used by teachers, librarians, faculty, staff, students, and families.
- Michigan Department of Education
- Michigan School Data
- MeL Teachers
- US Department of Education
- National Center for Education Statistics
- Evidence for ESSA -- from Johns Hopkins University, this website tracks K-12 education programs that meet the ESSA (Every Student Succeeds Act) evidence standards
- American FactFinder
Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) is the world's largest collection of digital social science data. These data can be used for secondary research, instructional activities, and to write articles, papers or theses.
iPoll is a comprehensive database of 500,000 questions and answers asked in the US since 1935. Also included is the Roper Center public opinion data which is the largest archives of public opinion information. Coverage: Data sets.
- Michigan School Data
- National Center for Education Statistics
- Statistical Abstract of the United States (Proquest)
The Statistical Abstract of the United States Online is the standard summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States – including vital and health statistics. It is also designed to serve as a guide to other statistical publications and sources, both in print and on the Web.
- American Federation of Teachers (AFT)
- Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development (ASCD)
- American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages (ACTFL)
- Shape America
- International Reading Association (IRA)
- International Technology Education Association (ITEA)
- National Council for the Social Studies (NCSS)
- National Council of Teachers of English (NCTE)
- National Council of Teachers of Mathematics (NCTM)
- National Science Teachers Association (NSTA)
- Teachers of English to Speakers of Other Languages (TESOL)
- National Education Association (NEA)
- Association for Education Communications and Technology (AECT)
- International Society for Technology in Education (ISTE)
- Association for the Advancement of Computing in Education (AACE)
You may request materials we don't have and we'll borrow them from another library for you.
Refworks allows you to create a personal database of references and automatically generate formatted bibliographies for your projects.
Writing Resources for Students
Find in-depth information about the mechanics of writing, MLA/APA citations, avoiding plagiarism, and more.
The consultants can help you with every stage of the writing process.