OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO ED 7900 - Developing Academic Writing Skills

Library Contact
Picture: Amanda Nichols Hess

Amanda Nichols Hess
Associate Professor
nichols@oakland.edu
248.370.2487

Office Hours: 248 Kresge Library
Tuesdays, 2-4pm
Wednesdays, 3-5pm
Feel free to stop by or contact me for an appointment
Find Information
Find Scholarly Articles
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff ERIC
This is the BEST PLACE to look when finding articles about education! ERIC contains over 1,100,000 items from 1966 through the present. How to export to RefWorks
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff JSTOR
Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately one year ago. Disciplines include botany, business, ecology, general science, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, and statistics. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. Especially good for historic or classic articles in most fields. Coverage: 1665 to present. How to export to RefWorks
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff PsycINFO
Need articles in psychology or counseling? Use PsycINFO! It's a great resource and is published by the American Psychological Association. How to export to RefWorks
...not sure what you're looking at when you review a scholarly article? The web resource, Anatomy of a Scholarly Article, from North Carolina State University libraries can help!
Find a Specific Article

To locate and retrieve articles or books that are cited in a bibliography or Works Cited page, use Library OneSearch or the Library Catalog to determine if Kresge Library has access to the item. For example, to find the article:

Auerbach, S. (2010). Beyond Coffee with the Principal: Toward Leadership for Authentic School-Family Partnerships. Journal of School Leadership 20 (6): 728-757.

The most direct ways to search are by:

  1. Title in Library OneSearch. Use the article title - Beyond coffee with the principal: Toward leadership for authentic school-family partnerships - not the title of the journal (Journal of School Leadership).
  2. Journal Title in the Library Catalog.  Use the title of the journal - Journal of School Leadership - NOT the title of the article.
The results of both searches indicate that the University Library has access to this article online.
Cited Reference Searching Resources
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Google Scholar
You can check the availability of article full text if you use our link to Google Scholar, which will ask you to log in with your OU NetID. How to export to RefWorks See our guide to adding OU Libraries resources to Google Scholar

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Web of Science
Web of Science provides access to Science Citation Index (SCI), Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) and Arts and Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI). These indexes contain references that have been cited in other articles. You can use these citations to perform cited reference searches (locate articles that cite an earlier publication). How to export to RefWorks
Find Books

Library Catalog
Use the catalog to find books, videos, recordings, and goverment documents we have at the library.

MelCat
A statewide catalog of many of Michigan's libraries. It allows you to request books at another library be sent to Kresge Library for you.

Dissertations & Theses
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Dissertations and Theses
This database is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world. It includes materials from 1861 to the present day. How to export to RefWorks

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Dissertations and Theses @ OU
Full text access to Oakland University dissertations and theses. How to export to RefWorks
Find Tests and Measures
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print
A comprehensive guide and bibliography to contemporary testing instruments. Contains descriptive information (test purpose, publisher, pricing, population, and scores) and edited reviews written by leading content area experts. How to export to RefWorks
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff PsycTESTS
A research database that provides access to psychological tests, measures, scales, and other assessments as well as descriptive and administrative information.
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI)
Provides access to article citations containing information on measurement instruments ( questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/ manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science. HaPI assists researchers, practitioners, educators, administrators, and evaluators, including students, to identify measures needed for research studies, grant proposals, client/patient assessment, class papers/projects, theses/dissertations, and program evaluation.
Tools & Services
Resources for Organizing Research
Several resources for organizing and citing information are available to you:
  • RefWorks is a resource provided through Oakland University -- this tool interfaces with our different resources, and it's easy to store, organize, retrieve, share, and cite information you find while at OU in RefWorks
  • Zotero is a free tool you can download for your own personal computer (you can also access your Zotero resources online, although it's more cumbersome). This tool also allows you to store, organize, retrieve, share, and cite information, although it's not as integrated into OU Libraries' resources as RefWorks (or even Flow).
Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan
You may request materials we don't have and we'll borrow them from another library for you.

Writing Help

Writing Resources for Students
Find in-depth information about the mechanics of writing, MLA/APA citations, avoiding plagiarism, and more.

Writing Center
The consultants can help you with every stage of the writing process.


Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News