OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO ED 8630 - Capstone Project Completion

Library Contact
Picture: Amanda Nichols Hess

Amanda Nichols Hess
Associate Professor
nichols@oakland.edu
248.370.2487

Options to connect: Meetings available via phone or virtually at this time.
Tools to Facilitate Your Work
Helpful resources as you get started:
Chat with Dr. Hess!

When Dr. Hess is online, feel free to ask a question via chat.

 
General Tools & Services
Find Books

Library OneSearch
Use the catalog to find books, videos, recordings, and goverment documents we have at the library.

MelCat
A statewide catalog of many of Michigan's libraries. It allows you to request books at another library be sent to Kresge Library for you.

Remote Library Services
Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan
You may request materials we don't have and we'll borrow them from another library for you.

RefWorks

Refworks

Refworks allows you to create a personal database of references and automatically generate formatted bibliographies for your projects.

Writing Help

Writing Resources for Students
Find in-depth information about the mechanics of writing, MLA/APA citations, avoiding plagiarism, and more.

Writing Center
The consultants can help you with every stage of the writing process.

Resources to Get Started
Find e-Books
Your best bets for education-related e-Books are:
  • Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Credo Reference
    Provides online access to encyclopedias, almanacs, and other reference tools.
  • Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Proquest eBook Central
    One of Kresge Library's primary platforms for eBooks. Includes books from a variety of publishers in many disciplines.
  • Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Sage Knowledge
    Collection of encyclopedias, handbooks, dictionaries, and more, covering topics in the social sciences.
  • Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Springer eBook Collection
    Multidisciplinary collection of eBooks published by Springer-Verlag since 2005. Especially strong coverage of the physical and biological sciences, computer science, engineering and technology.
Getting a Broad Overview of your Topic
It's helpful to get a broad overview of your topic before delving into research. Here are a few resources that will get you started:

Subject Encyclopedias in Print / Online: Reviews of the Literature: Research Handbooks: Research-Focused Encyclopedias:
Dissertations and Theses
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Dissertations and Theses
This database is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world. It includes materials from 1861 to the present day. How to export to RefWorks

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Dissertations and Theses @ OU
Full text access to Oakland University dissertations and theses. How to export to RefWorks
Streaming Video
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff AVON: Academic Video Online
A multidisciplinary collection of videos that touches on the curriculum needs of virtually every department. Look for specialized collections (Theatre in Video, Opera in Video) under Advanced Search.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Psychotherapy.net
A streaming video collection of over 50 videos featuring demonstrations of psychotherapy and counseling sessions, covering a wide range of modalities, populations, and approaches.
Finding Articles & Other Information
Finding Scholarly Articles
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff ERIC
Includes education and related topics - journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs.  How to export to RefWorks

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff JSTOR
Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately one year ago. Disciplines include botany, business, ecology, general science, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, and statistics. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. Especially good for historic or classic articles in most fields. Coverage: 1665 to present. How to export to RefWorks

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff PsycINFO
Need articles in psychology or counseling? Use PsycINFO! It's a great resource and is published by the American Psychological Association. How to export to RefWorks

...not sure what you're looking at when you review a scholarly article? The web resource, Anatomy of a Scholarly Article, from North Carolina State University libraries can help!
Google Scholar

Google Scholar
 
Finding a Specific Article

To locate and retrieve articles or books that are cited in a bibliography or Works Cited page, use Library OneSearch to determine if the Libraries have access to the item.
For example, to find the article:

Auerbach, S. (2010). Beyond Coffee with the Principal: Toward Leadership for Authentic School-Family Partnerships. Journal of School Leadership 20 (6): 728-757.

The most direct way to search is by Title in Library OneSearch. Use the article title - Beyond coffee with the principal: Toward leadership for authentic school-family partnerships - not the title of the journal (Journal of School Leadership).

The results indicate that the University Library has access to this article online!
Cited Reference Searching Resources
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Google Scholar
You can check the availability of article full text if you use our link to Google Scholar, which will ask you to log in with your OU NetID. How to export to RefWorks  

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Web of Science
Web of Science provides access to Science Citation Index (SCI), Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) and Arts and Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI). These indexes contain references that have been cited in other articles. You can use these citations to perform cited reference searches (locate articles that cite an earlier publication). How to export to RefWorks
Finding Tests and Measures
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print
A comprehensive guide and bibliography to contemporary testing instruments. Contains descriptive information (test purpose, publisher, pricing, population, and scores) and edited reviews written by leading content area experts. How to export to RefWorks

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff PsycTESTS
A research database that provides access to psychological tests, measures, scales, and other assessments as well as descriptive and administrative information.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI)
Provides access to article citations containing information on measurement instruments (questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/ manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science. HaPI assists researchers, practitioners, educators, administrators, and evaluators, including students, to identify measures needed for research studies, grant proposals, client/patient assessment, class papers/projects, theses/dissertations, and program evaluation.

Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News