OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO EHS 2250 - Safety Training Methods

Searching for Literature
Occupational safety and health is such an interdisciplinary area, incorporating aspects of business, health sciences, and even education - since safety professionals must identify effective strategies for training adult learners - you will want to search multiple databases in these areas to find relevant information on your topic.

Research and read lots of information to develop your understanding of the topic. Start by exploring the Library OneSearch database located on all the library's webpages, results will include books, ebooks, academic journals, newspapers. 
 

Locating Scholarly and Trade publications:

Business literature

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff ABI/Inform Complete - Articles in all business areas including occupational health, safety management, and related areas, included are:
  • Occupational Health & Safety
  • Occupational Hazards
  • AIHA Journal - American Industrial Hygiene Association Journal (1993-2003)
  • Professional Safety
  • The Safety & Health Practitioner
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Business Source Elite
Broad scope - includes academic journals, trade publications, magazines, books, market research reports, and product reviews. How to export to RefWorks


Nursing and health sciences

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff CINAHL Plus with Full-Text   Largest Nursing and Allied Health Literature database.
l
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Thanks to Mel Health Reference Center Academic
Multi-source database provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus the wide variety of personal health information. How to export to RefWorks Access ended 9/30/2018.  

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Medline via Web of Science
MEDLINE is the premier database of the U.S. National Library of Medicine. It contains over 20 million records of journal articles in the life sciences, with particular emphasis on biomedicine. Coverage: 1950-present. How to export to RefWorks
 

For information on adult learners, search:

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff ERIC Includes articles from education magazines & journals (EJ) plus reports and other documents (ED). Some EDs (1990 - 2006) available online. Be careful using ERIC documents; the quality of these documents varies widely. Try terms like "adult learning" and "on the job training."
 

 

 
Find books and items from other libraries

For books at other MI libraries: use MeLCat

For books at other libraries: use WorldCat

Use Interlibrary Loanto request materials we don't have and we'll borrow them from another library for you. 
Citation Searching

To locate and retrieve articles or books that are cited in a bibliography or Works Cited page, copy and paste the title into Library OneSearch, if we have access to the item you should find it in the results list. If not try pasting the title into Google Scholar, you may find an open access copy or you can place an Interlibrary loanrequest by clicking on the "More" and Order it @ Kresge Library.

Research Assistance

Ask a Librarian
Ask a research question by phone, chat, email, or in person at the research help desk.

Research Consultation
Sign up online for an individual session with a librarian to get help with your research.

Library Contact
Picture: Julia Rodriguez

Julia Rodriguez
Associate Professor / Nursing, Health Sciences & Scholarly Communications Librarian
juliar@oakland.edu

Schedule a research consultation (Fall & Winter only)
 
Locating Government Information

Government documents also can be an important source of information on occupational safety and health-related topics. Both the federal and state governments provide a great deal of information as well as statistics on their websites.

Federal agencies:

State:
How Do I...
Locate tutorials on various topics on the tutorials page. 
Assignment
After you have reviewed the information on this page, please complete the following assignment: Exercise - 225.doc

Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News