START by exploring Library OneSearch (includes books, ebooks, academic journals, newspapers)
Search for articles, books, and more...
To search subject specific literature try suggested databases from OneSearch, possible choices:
Business literature
ABI/Inform Complete - Articles in all business areas including occupational health, safety management, and related areas. How to Export to Refworks.- Occupational Health & Safety
- Occupational Hazards
- AIHA Journal - American Industrial Hygiene Association Journal (1993-2003)
- Professional Safety
- The Safety & Health Practitioner
Business Source Elite Broad scope - includes academic journals, trade publications, magazines, books, market research reports, and product reviews. How to export to RefWorks
Health sciences & Medical
CINAHL Complete Largest Nursing and Allied Health Literature database. Researching with CINAHL tutorial.
PubMed (MEDLINE) The National Library of Medicine's free interface for MEDLINE, the premier database for biomedical journal citations.
Multidisciplinary
Web of Science Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 12,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide.
**To find more choices, review the library's entire list of databases by subject.
****Having trouble accessing the full-text of articles? View the Retrieving Articles Using the Get-It link tutorial.
- US Occupational Safety and Health Administration OSHA- (Dept. of Labor)
- National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (Dept. of Health and Human Services, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention)
- Bureau of Labor Statistics - Includes data on workplace injuries, illnesses and fatalities (check the Occupations section on the main page)
- Michigan Occupational Safety and Health Administration(MI Dept. of Labor and Economic Growth)
- FDsys(GPO Access)- for access to the Code of Federal Regulations, Federal Register and other government resources.
- FedStats - Guide to data on numerous government websites
- Household Products database - US Dept. of Health & Human Services
Julia Rodriguez
Associate Professor / Health Sciences & Scholarly Communications Librarian
juliar@oakland.edu
If none of the time slots work for you or if there are none available, email me directly and suggest a date & time and I will do my best to accommodate you.
To get the full-text of an article you found on the web or elsewhere try pasting the citation information into the library's citation linker tool.
If we don't have your article electronically or in print try borrowing through InterLibrary Loan.
1. Authority - Who is the author/developer? What are her/his qualifications? What are the affiliations, if any?
2. Currency - Is the material current, updated regularly?
3. Relevancy - How relevant is the information to your topic?
4. Accuracy - How do you know the information contained is correct? Are the facts cited, can they be checked?
5. Objectivity/Bias - Is the information presented objectively? What bias might the authors/creators have?
6. Appropriateness - Is this a good source for academic / scholarly level research?
- Finding full-text in databases
- Finding full-text from a citation
- Recognizing peer-review articles
- What are peer-reviewed sources?
Writing tutorials:
- Essential Elements of a Literature Review guide (UC Santa Cuz)
- Conducting Literature Reviews - detailed guide (USC)
Refworks allows you to create a personal database of references and automatically generate formatted bibliographies for your projects.
Writing Resources for Students
Find in-depth information about the mechanics of writing, MLA/APA citations, avoiding plagiarism, and more.
Writing Center
The consultants can help you with every stage of the writing process.