START by exploring Library OneSearch (includes books, ebooks, academic journals, newspapers)
Search for articles, books, and more...
To search subject specific literature try suggested databases from OneSearch, possible choices:
Business literature
ABI/Inform Complete - Articles in all business areas including occupational health, safety management, and related areas, included are:- Occupational Health & Safety
- Occupational Hazards
- AIHA Journal - American Industrial Hygiene Association Journal (1993-2003)
- Professional Safety
- The Safety & Health Practitioner
Business Source Elite Broad scope - includes academic journals, trade publications, magazines, books, market research reports, and product reviews. How to export to RefWorks
Nursing and health sciences
CINAHL Complete Largest Nursing and Allied Health Literature database.How to Export to Refworks Researching with CINAHL tutorial.
l
Medline via Web of Science
MEDLINE is the premier database of the U.S. National Library of Medicine. It contains over 20 million records of journal articles in the life sciences, with particular emphasis on biomedicine. Coverage: 1950-present. How to export to RefWorks
*Having trouble accessing the full-text of articles? View the Retrieving Articles Using the Get-It link tutorial.
To get the full-text of an article you found on the web or elsewhere paste the citation information into Google Scholar and follow the Get-it buttons.
Or use the library's citation linker tool.
If we don't have your article electronically or in print try borrowing through InterLibrary Loan.
System safety analysis handbook / co-editors, Richard A. Stephans, Warner W. Talso ; contributing authors, Michael Allocco ... [et al.] System Safety Society ;1997.
Julia Rodriguez
Associate Professor / Health Sciences & Scholarly Communications Librarian
juliar@oakland.edu
If none of the time slots work for you or if there are none available, email me directly and suggest a date & time and I will do my best to accommodate you.
- US Occupational Safety and Health Administration (Dept. of Labor)
- National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (Dept. of Health and Human Services, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention)
- Bureau of Labor Statistics - Includes data on workplace injuries, illnesses and fatalities (check the Occupations section on the main page)
- Michigan Occupational Safety and Health Administration(MI Dept. of Labor and Economic Growth)
- FDsys(GPO Access)- for access to the Code of Federal Regulations, Federal Register and other government resources.
- FedStats - Guide to data on numerous government websites
- Household Products database - US Dept. of Health & Human Services
- TOXMAP maps the TRI chemicals reported to the EPA as required by EPCRA.
- TOXNET: TOXicology Data NETwork databases, cover toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health and related areas.
- American Industrial Hygiene Association
- American Society of Safety Engineers
- Professional Safety - ASSE's online journal.
Conducting Literature Reviews - detailed guide (USC)
Critically Analyzing Information Sources (Cornell Libraries)
Quantitative Methods Research Design (USC)