OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO EMBA - Integrative Action Project

Finding Industry Information
The Following resources all contain industry reports.  The reports give an overview of the business envirnoment, competition, major companies, etc.  Some also include financial and economic data.
  • Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff IBISWorld
    Detailed market research and analysis on over 700 U.S. industries as well as Global Industry Reports, China Industry Reports and Business Environment Reports.
  • Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff MarketLine
    Includes company and industry reports, country profiles, as well as market data and country statistics.
  • Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff ABI/Inform Complete - Finding First Research Reports Tutorial Video
Finding Company Information
These resources are useful for looking up information on both public and private companies.  The amount of information available on a particular private company can be quite scant though.
  • Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff MarketLine
    Includes company and industry reports, country profiles, as well as market data and country statistics.
  • Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Mergent Online
    Financial data on US and international publicly traded firms; includes annual reports, SEC filings, news, and other information. Limited to 7 users at a time. Log off after using!
  • Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Mergent Intellect
    Provides access to private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information and more.
  • Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Thanks to Mel Business Insights: Global
    Access to company and industry profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, and periodicals. Thanks to MeL
  • Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff LexisNexis Academic Universe
    NEWS: full text access to newspapers, magazines, trade journals, newsletters, news wires, and transcripts. News sources are never scholarly, but they can give you up-to-date information on current events. BUSINESS: access to financial and business information for specific companies. It's most accurate when you limit your search by sources, such as Hoover's Company Reports, S&P Corporate Descriptions, American Marketplace, and Tax Analysts Publications. LEGAL: you can search for legal information such as court decisions, legal codes, legal news, and law journals. The coverage includes information both at the state level and at the federal level. How to export to RefWorks
Business Research Sources
These resources can help you find news, reports, and scholarly articles about a particular topic, company, or industry.
Consumer Research
 These resources contain demographic information and statistics.
Private Company Research Strategies.
 Finding information on private companies can be a daunting task especially compared to the wealth of information available on public companies.  Here are a few tips:
  • Check the company databases listed in the "Finding Company Information" box above.  Some do offer information on private companies.
  • Visit the company's website.  
  • Check for news articles about the company in Lexis Nexis, ABI/Inform, or sites like The Business Journals
  • Searching for the company in ABI/Inform can sometimes turn up interesting documents like credit risk reports.  Watch this video to see how.
Library Contact
Picture: Shawn McCann

Shawn McCann
Assistant Professor
mccann@oakland.edu
248.370.2456

Office Hrs: W 2-4pm
Book appointment
RefWorks

Refworks allows you to create a personal database of references and automatically generate formatted bibliographies for your projects.

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan
You may request materials we don't have and we'll borrow them from another library for you.


Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News