OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO English

Indexes and Abstracts

Using the OneSearch box only yields books and articles available via Kresge Library--and no one library can own everything! For a more comprehensive picture of all scholarship regarding a particular author or text, consult the following indexes and abstracts to identify journal articles, essays, books, and more that will be useful for your research:

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff MLA Bibliography
A subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. It is produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), an organization dedicated to the study and teaching of language and literature. The electronic version of the Bibliography dates back to 1925 and contains over 2 million citations from more than 4,400 periodicals (including peer-reviewed e-journals) and 1,000 book publishers.
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Humanities Full Text
Here you'll find articles, book reviews, and interviews dealing with literature, movies, journalism, dance, and communication. 1984 to present. How to export to RefWorks.
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Arts and Humanities Citation Index
Provides indexing coverage of the journal literature in the arts and humanities, including literature, music and film studies. Provides information on who has cited a researcher's work. Coverage: 1975 - present. How to export to RefWorks
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance
The definitive research tool for the study of theatre and the performing arts; includes journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance in 126 countries. How to export to RefWorks
 

e-Collections

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Project MUSE
Project Muse provides full-text access to the content from over 400 scholarly journals in the humanities and the social sciences. How to export to RefWorks
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff JSTOR
Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately one year ago. Disciplines include botany, business, ecology, general science, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, and statistics. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. Especially good for historic or classic articles in most fields. Coverage: 1665 to present. How to export to RefWorks
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Cambridge Companions
Offers introductions to major writers, artists, philosophers, topics and periods.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Cambridge Histories Online
More than 260 volumes from the esteemed Cambridge Histories series covering 14 subject areas including general and regional history, literary studies, philosophy and religious studies.

 

Online Reference Material
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Oxford English Dictionary
The definitive historical dictionary of the English language. This dictionary covers English words from 1150 CE to present, and provides etymology and quotations illustrating usage. 
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Encyclopedia of American Studies
This source brings together a wide range of disciplines related to the history and cultures of the United States, from pre-colonial days to the present. It features broad, synthetic articles covering areas such as history, literature, art, photography, film, architecture, urban studies, ethnicity, race, gender, economics, politics, wars, consumer culture, and global America.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism
Historical survey of the most important critics and theorists, critical schools, and movements in literary theory and criticism. Includes more than 240 alphabetically arranged entries, including the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Credo Reference
Provides online access to encyclopedias, almanacs, and other reference tools.


Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Dictionary of Literary Biography
Provides more than 16,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres. DLB Complete Online includes the DLB main series, the DLB Documentary Series, and the DLB Yearbook Series.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff ARTstor
ARTstor is a nonprofit digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences with a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.
Library Contact
Picture: Emily Spunaugle

Emily Spunaugle
Assistant Professor, Humanities Librarian
spunaugle@oakland.edu
248.370.2498

 

 
Essentials

Kresge Library Catalog


MelCat -- need a book we don't have? MelCat is the online catalog of other Michigan libraries. This is the fastest way to borrow books that OU does not own, and books are delivered to Kresge Library.


ILLiad -- borrow books, journal articles, etc. that OU does not own.


Refworks -- create a personal database of references and automatically generate formatted bibliographies for your projects.


MLA Citation Guide -- link to the Purdue Online Writing Lab's guide to MLA Style.
 

Related Web Sites

Department of English, Oakland University 


Merriam-Webster Online Dictionary -- great for pronunciation


eScene --"best of the literary web." Includes fiction, poetry, essays from various online literary journals.


New York Public Library Digital Gallery -- digitized images from NYPL collections, including posters, maps, photographs, and more.


The Paris Review Archive of Author Interviews, from E. M. Forster in 1953 to Michel Houellebecq


In Their Own Words: British Novelists -- BBC interviews (some audio only, others include video) with Virginia Woolf, Tolkien, Margaret Drabble, John le Carre, Ian McEwan, and many others.


The Victorian Web -- "WWW translation of Brown University's Context 61, which served as a resource for courses in Victorian literature."


American Memory (from the Library of Congress) -- A collection of photographs, posters, documents, films, sound recordings and other materials from American history.

 


Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News