OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO ENG 3220 - Observing and Recording the Eighteenth Century

Find other copies of your pamphlet
Use the following resources to try to locate other copies of your pamphlet for comparison.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Early English Books Online
Contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Eighteenth Century Collections Online
180,000 titles (200,000 volumes) including books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides and more. Works published in the UK during the 18th century plus thousands from elsewhere. Based on the English Short Title Catalogue.

Hathi Trust Digital Library is a partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to ensure that the cultural record is preserved and accessible long into the future. Hathi Trust collections include out-of-copyright books predating the print era through the 20th century. Search their catalog to find additional copies or editions of your text. 

Can't find a digitized version of your text? See if another library holds it according to the English Short-Title Catalogue.
Contextualize your pamphlet
Start with searches in these Cambridge reference standards and follow their suggestions for more specific monographs (scholarly books) for historical context--is there a specific law, geographical location, or cultural aspect you need to delve into?

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Cambridge Companions
Offers introductions to major writers, artists, philosophers, topics and periods.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Cambridge Histories Online
More than 260 volumes from the esteemed Cambridge Histories series covering 14 subject areas including general and regional history, literary studies, philosophy and religious studies.
Puzzle out diction
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Oxford English Dictionary
The definitive historical dictionary of the English language. This dictionary covers English words from 1150 CE to present, and provides etymology and quotations illustrating usage. The OED is especially useful for puzzling out 18th century usage--are our contemporary notions of "concoction" or "college" or "slut" sufficient for understanding their use in the context of your pamphlets?

 
Library Contact
Picture: Emily Spunaugle

Emily Spunaugle
Assistant Professor, Humanities Librarian
spunaugle@oakland.edu
248.370.2498

Identify key players
Find a Grave Index: Use the UK and Ireland index to establish birth and death dates and locations for authors, printers, and other names mentioned in your pamphlet. Searches graves from 1300-present (not comprehensive).

Burke's genealogical and heraldic history of the peerage, baronetage and knightage: trace the lineage and "wow factor" of your author and/or other names mentioned in your text. Select edition 1 for surnames starting with A through "Leitrim," and edition 2 for "Le Marchant" through "Zouche." Edition 1 also contains the "key," or how to interpret the entries in Burke's peerage.

Alumni oxonienses: the members of the University of Oxford, 1500-1714: their parentage, birthplace, and year of birth, with a record of their degrees.

Alumni oxonienses: The members of the University of Oxford, 1715-1886 ; their parentage, birthplace, and year of birth, with a record of their degrees.

Alumni Cantabrigienses: A Biographical List of All Known Students, Graduates and Holders of Office at the University of Cambridge, from the Earliest Times to 1900:

Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News