OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO ENG 4900 - History of the Book

Databases
Locate secondary literature on book history using the following databases:

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff MLA Bibliography
A subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. It is produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), an organization dedicated to the study and teaching of language and literature. The electronic version of the Bibliography dates back to 1925 and contains over 2 million citations from more than 4,400 periodicals (including peer-reviewed e-journals) and 1,000 book publishers.
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Project MUSE
Project Muse provides full-text access to the content from over 400 scholarly journals in the humanities and the social sciences. How to export to RefWorks
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff JSTOR
Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately one year ago. Disciplines include botany, business, ecology, general science, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, and statistics. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. Especially good for historic or classic articles in most fields. Coverage: 1665 to present. How to export to RefWorks
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff America: History & Life
The definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Provides indexing for 1,700 journals. How to export to RefWorks. Coverage: 1964-present
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Historical Abstracts
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, the history of education, and more. Provides indexing of more than 1700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages since 1955. How to export to RefWorks
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Arts and Humanities Citation Index
Provides indexing coverage of the journal literature in the arts and humanities, including literature, music and film studies. Provides information on who has cited a researcher's work. Coverage: 1975 - present. How to export to RefWorks
 
Journals
On top of wading through the databases listed to the left, you can consult individual journals for relevant scholarship. This list can also serve as a guide for determining which articles you've located will be most useful for book history scholarship (rather than the literary approaches with which we're most familiar). Here are some to which Kresge Library has access:
 
Books on Books
For background and identification of book parts:
ABC for Book-Collectors
New Introduction to Bibliography
Cambridge Companion of the History of the Book

Broadview Reader in Book History

Use some of the following subject headings for locating books in our library and from others via MelCat:
  • Authors and readers -- History
  • Book industries and trade
  • Bookbinding
  • Booksellers and bookselling
  • Early printed books
  • Illustration of books
  • Libraries -- History
  • Manuscripts
  • Printing -- History
  • Publishers and publishing -- History
  • Books and reading -- History
  • Type and type-founding
You can construct an advanced search pairing relevant subject headings from above with the time period or type of book you're interrogating. Try keyword phrases such as:
  • 17th century
  • 18th century
  • 19th century
  • "early modern"
  • renaissance
  • colonial
  • women
  • victorian
  • conduct

 

Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News