OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO ENG 5820 - Early American Literature

Contextualizing Early America
Scholarly books: Use the following subject headings to search for books about the history, culture, and social climate of the American colonies--from more than just a literary perspective (you can copy and paste these into a subject search):

United States -- History -- Colonial period, ca. 1600-1775
New England -- Civilization -- 17th century
New England -- Social conditions --17th century
New England -- Social life and customs -- To 1775
New England -- History -- Colonia period, ca. 1600-1775
Puritans -- New England -- History -- 17th century

NOTE: Library of Congress Subject Headings for indigenous peoples retain colonialist language. Phrases such as "indians of north america" (yes, in quotes) will be useful to you. Below are some examples of subject headings: 

Indians of North America -- New England -- Population
Indians of North America -- Wars -- New England
Indians of North America -- Material culture -- New England
Warefare, Primitive -- New England -- History
New England -- Ethnic relations
New England -- Race relations
Indian slaves -- New England -- History -- 17th century
Narragansett Indians -- Politics and government -- 17th century
Databases & E-Journal Collections

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff MLA International Bibliography
A subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. It is produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), an organization dedicated to the study and teaching of language and literature. The electronic version of the Bibliography dates back to 1925 and contains over 2 million citations from more than 4,400 periodicals (including peer-reviewed e-journals) and 1,000 book publishers.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff America: History & Life
The definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Provides indexing for 1,700 journals. How to export to RefWorks. Coverage: 1964-present

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff JSTOR
Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately one year ago. Disciplines include botany, business, ecology, general science, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, and statistics. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. Especially good for historic or classic articles in most fields. Coverage: 1665 to present. How to export to RefWorks

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Project MUSE
Project Muse provides full-text access to the content from over 400 scholarly journals in the humanities and the social sciences. How to export to RefWorks

Cambridge Companions --includes volumes on many literary authors and literary periods.  Several volumes have chapters on Marvell--just type in his last name in the "quick search" box.  Potentially helpful titles here are The Cambridge Companion to Nineteenth Century Women's Writings and The Cambridge Companion to Puritanism.  To find useful essays just search for a particular writer in the "quick search" box.

 

Library Contact
Picture: Emily Spunaugle

Emily Spunaugle
Assistant Professor, Humanities Librarian
spunaugle@oakland.edu
248.370.2498

Primary Sources on Early America
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Early American Imprints, entire series  Scans of early books printed IN AMERICA. Use the topics on the landing page to find primary source documents, including receipts, laws, journals, advertisements, treatises, fiction, etc. 

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Early English Books Online  Scans of early books printed in England, its dependencies (read: America +), or in the English language, from 1500s-1700. Early America relied on its parent for print culture well into the 18th century.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Eighteenth Century Collections Online  Scans of early books printed in England, its dependencies (read: America +), or in the English language, from 1700-1800
RefWorks

Refworks

Refworks allows you to create a personal database of references and automatically generate formatted bibliographies for your projects.


Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News