LIBRARY GUIDE TO ENG 1500 - Literature of Ethnic America

Contemporary Newspaper Collections
Newspaper Source Plus
Newspaper Source Plus provides a full-text digital collection of the world's major news content. It includes articles from newspapers, newswires, and news magazines. In addition, it offers television and radio transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources.  Thanks to MeL.

Historical Newspapers
Chicago Defender (Proquest Historical Newspapers)
Covers several editions of the Chicago Defender newspaper from 1909-1975.
Detroit Free Press Historical
Covers several editions of the Detroit Free Press from 1831-1999.
New York Times Historical
Offers full-text, full-image articles of The New York Times, going back to 1851. The database can be used to search national and international news, editorials, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, plus historical photos and advertisements. The documents are downloadable in PDF format. How to export to RefWorks

Women's Magazine Archive
An archival research resource comprising the full backfiles of leading women’s interest consumer magazines. Titles are scanned from cover to cover in high-resolution color and feature detailed article-level indexing. Coverage ranges from the late-19th century through to 2005 and these key primary sources permit the examination of the events, trends, and attitudes of this period.
Reveal Digital: Independent Voices
A growing collection of magazines, journals, and newspapers of the independent alternative press of the 1960s-1980s. Good primary sources for the history of feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Latinos, gays, lesbians and more.
American Periodicals Online Series
This source includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from 1740-1940. Titles range from Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine and America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository; popular magazines such as Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home Journal; regional and niche publications; and groundbreaking journals like The Dial, Puck, and McClure's.

Early American Imprints, entire series
Includes Evans 1670-1800, Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819, Series I Supplement from the Library Company of Philadelphia, and Series II Supplement from the Library Company of Philadelphia. How to export to RefWorks
History Vault: Civil Rights and the Black Freedom Struggle
A collection of digitized primary sources documenting the civil rights movement, from the early 20th century to the 1970s with an emphasis on the 1960s. NAACP Papers are included.
History Vault: Southern Life and Slavery
A collection of digitized primary sources documenting the far-reaching impact of slavery and the plantation system on the American South and the nation.

Try searching for essays to corroborate your story of the American Dream in the following encyclopedias:
Encyclopedia of American Studies
This source brings together a wide range of disciplines related to the history and cultures of the United States, from pre-colonial days to the present. It features broad, synthetic articles covering areas such as history, literature, art, photography, film, architecture, urban studies, ethnicity, race, gender, economics, politics, wars, consumer culture, and global America.
Cambridge Histories Online
More than 260 volumes from the esteemed Cambridge Histories series covering 14 subject areas including general and regional history, literary studies, philosophy and religious studies.
Encyclopedia of Gender and Society
Provide users with a “gender lens” on society by focusing on significant gender scholarship within commonly recognized areas of social research. Accordingly, the material in this encyclopedia focuses on basic aspects of social life from the most individual (self and identity) to the most global (transnational economics and politics).
Encyclopedia of Race, Ethnicity and Society
Almost 600 entries on issues related to race and ethnicity around the world.
Encyclopedia of Social Problems
More than 600 entries covering such topics as aging, crime, education, family, gender, sexual orientation, health, urbanization, race and ethnicity, social movements and substance abuse.

You can also find other specialized encyclopedias using Library OneSearch: just add >encyclopedia< to your search, like The Encyclopedia of Housing, or The Encyclopedia of African American Education.
 

Library OneSearch
Use the catalog to find books, videos, recordings, and goverment documents we have at the library.

MelCat
A statewide catalog of many of Michigan's libraries. It allows you to request books at another library be sent to Kresge Library for you.