OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO ENG 211 - Introduction to Literary Studies

Finding Articles

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff MLA Bibliography
A subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. It is produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), an organization dedicated to the study and teaching of language and literature. The electronic version of the Bibliography dates back to 1925 and contains over 2 million citations from more than 4,400 periodicals (including peer-reviewed e-journals) and 1,000 book publishers.


FULL-TEXT RESOURCES


Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff JSTOR
Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately one year ago. Disciplines include botany, business, ecology, general science, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, and statistics. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. Especially good for historic or classic articles in most fields. Coverage: 1665 to present. How to export to RefWorks
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Project MUSE
Project Muse provides full-text access to the content from over 400 scholarly journals in the humanities and the social sciences. How to export to RefWorks
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Humanities Full Text
Here you'll find articles, book reviews, and interviews dealing with literature, movies, journalism, dance, and communication. 1984 to present. How to export to RefWorks.
Year's Work in English Studies
Online from 1996. Bibliographic essays citing important titles published in a given year. Great place to learn of the scholarship trends and to get a scholar's opinions about what is being published.

FInding Books
Unrestricted Resource Kresge Library Catalog
You can use the library catalog to find books, scholarly & popular journals, government documents, dvds & videos, reference materials, sheet music, and more.

Subject headings, a sampling:
United States History 1919-1932
United States Social Life and Customs 1918-1945
United States Intellectual life 20th century
Popular Culture United States History 20th century
Crane, Hart, 1899-1932
..and many more!

Unrestricted Resource MelCat
MeLCat is a statewide catalog of many of Michigan's libraries. MeLCat allows you to request materials at another library be sent to Kresge Library for you.
Reference Resources
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Oxford English Dictionary
The definitive historical dictionary of the English language. This dictionary covers English words from 1150 CE to present, and provides etymology and quotations illustrating usage.
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Dictionary of Literary Biography
Provides more than 16,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres. DLB Complete Online includes the DLB main series, the DLB Documentary Series, and the DLB Yearbook Series.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Cambridge Companions
Offers introductions to major writers, artists, philosophers, topics and periods.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Cambridge Histories Online
Includes more than 260 volumes from the esteemed Cambridge Histories and covers 14 subject areas including General History, Regional History, Literary Studies, Philosophy, and Religious Studies.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Encyclopedia of American Studies
This source brings together a wide range of disciplines related to the history and cultures of the United States, from pre-colonial days to the present. It features broad, synthetic articles covering areas such as history, literature, art, photography, film, architecture, urban studies, ethnicity, race, gender, economics, politics, wars, consumer culture, and global America.
Understanding Context
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff New York Times Historical
Offers full-text, full-image articles of The New York Times, going back to 1851. The database can be used to search national and international news, editorials, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, plus historical photos and advertisements. The documents are downloadable in PDF format. How to export to RefWorks
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff America: History & Life
The definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Provides indexing for 1,700 journals. How to export to RefWorks. Coverage: 1964-present
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Historical Abstracts
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, the history of education, and more. Provides indexing of more than 1700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages since 1955. How to export to RefWorks

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff ARTstor
ARTstor is a nonprofit digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences with a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.

Kresge Library's History Subject Guide
Other Search Tools
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Google Scholar
You can check the availability of article full text if you use our link to Google Scholar, which will ask you to log in with your OU NetID. How to export to RefWorks See our guide to adding OU Libraries resources to Google Scholar

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Arts and Humanities Citation Index
Indexes articles about topics in the arts and humanities (literature, music, film studies, etc.). Provides information on who has cited a researcher's work. How to export to RefWorks
Library Contact
Picture: Emily Spunaugle

Emily Spunaugle
Assistant Professor, Humanities Librarian
spunaugle@oakland.edu
248.370.2498

 

 
Library OneSearch
Find articles, books, etc...


RefWorks

Refworks allows you to create a personal database of references and automatically generate formatted bibliographies for your projects.

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan
You may request materials we don't have and we'll borrow them from another library for you.

Writing Help

Writing Resources for Students
Find in-depth information about the mechanics of writing, MLA/APA citations, avoiding plagiarism, and more.

Writing Center
The consultants can help you with every stage of the writing process.

Sampling of Web Sites
Kresge Library's Research Guide for English

Perspectives in American Literature
(Paul Reuben, Calif. State, Stanislaus)

American Literature sites
(Donna Campbell, Washington State)

American Memory --A collection of photographs, posters, documents, films, sound recordings and other materials from American history. Areas covered include American culture and folklife, African American history, women's history, Native American history, advertising, war, religion and sports.

The NYPL Digital Gallery --700,000+ images from primary sources and printed rarities including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs, illustrated books, and printed ephemera.

Yale University Library Digital Collections --Includes several digital collections. Especially interesting is the "Beinecke Rare Book & Manuscript Library Digital Images" which contains collections on "Picturing Literary Modernism," the James Baldwin papers, the Langston Hughes papers, and many more fascinating items.

Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News