OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO ENG 4900 - Early American Women Writers

Finding Books

Library OneSearch: Use the advanced search to use subject headings to find scholarly books AND primary sources on your topic.  

Subject headings, a sampling

Rowlandson, Mary White, ca. 1635-1711
American Literature - Colonial Period, ca. 1600-1775
American Literature - Women Authors
Feminism and Literature - United States - History - 18th century
Indian Captivities
Women and Literature - United States - History - 18th Century

Unrestricted Resource MelCat
MeLCat is a statewide catalog of many of Michigan's libraries. MeLCat allows you to request materials at another library be sent to Kresge Library for you.
Databases & E-Journal Collections

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff MLA International Bibliography
A subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. It is produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), an organization dedicated to the study and teaching of language and literature. The electronic version of the Bibliography dates back to 1925 and contains over 2 million citations from more than 4,400 periodicals (including peer-reviewed e-journals) and 1,000 book publishers.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff America: History & Life
The definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Provides indexing for 1,700 journals. How to export to RefWorks. Coverage: 1964-present

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff JSTOR
Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately one year ago. Disciplines include botany, business, ecology, general science, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, and statistics. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. Especially good for historic or classic articles in most fields. Coverage: 1665 to present. How to export to RefWorks

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Project MUSE
Project Muse provides full-text access to the content from over 400 scholarly journals in the humanities and the social sciences. How to export to RefWorks

Cambridge Companions --includes volumes on many literary authors and literary periods.  Several volumes have chapters on Marvell--just type in his last name in the "quick search" box.  Potentially helpful titles here are The Cambridge Companion to Nineteenth Century Women's Writings and The Cambridge Companion to Puritanism.  To find useful essays just search for a particular writer in the "quick search" box.

 

Library Contact
Picture: Emily Spunaugle

Emily Spunaugle
Assistant Professor, Humanities Librarian
spunaugle@oakland.edu
248.370.2498

Reference Titles

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Dictionary of Literary Biography (DLB)
Provides more than 16,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres. DLB Complete Online includes the DLB main series, the DLB Documentary Series, and the DLB Yearbook Series.

The Cambridge Guide to Women's Writing in English--includes brief entries for many early American women writers.  Also available in print in the reference stacks:
Ref. PR111.C353 1999.

Colonial America: an Encyclopedia of Social, Political, Cultural, and Economic History (Ref. E162.C88 2006)--short entries on specific people, ideas, events, etc. Be sure to refer to the general index near the end of volume 5.

The Chronology of American Literature:  America's Literary Achievements from the Colonial Era to Modern Times--year by year listing of literary publications (with brief explanatory paragraphs.  Author and subject indexes can also be used to get to a known publication.  Also available in print in the reference stacks:  Ref. PS94.C84 2004.

Women Writers in the United States (Ref. PS147.D38 1996)--another chronology, this time of just women writers.  Lists texts by year and gives "context" for each.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Oxford English Dictionary
The definitive historical dictionary of the English language. This dictionary covers English words from 1150 CE to present, and provides etymology and quotations illustrating usage.
 

RefWorks

Refworks

Refworks allows you to create a personal database of references and automatically generate formatted bibliographies for your projects.


Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News