OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO ENG 520 - Introduction to Graduate Studies in English

Databases & E-Journal Collections

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff MLA Bibliography
A subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. It is produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), an organization dedicated to the study and teaching of language and literature. The electronic version of the Bibliography dates back to 1925 and contains over 2 million citations from more than 4,400 periodicals (including peer-reviewed e-journals) and 1,000 book publishers.
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Year's Work in English Studies
Online from 1921. Bibliographic essays citing important titles published in a given year. Great place to learn of the scholarship trends and to get a scholar's opinions about what is being published.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Web of Science
Web of Science provides access to Science Citation Index (SCI), Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) and Arts and Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI). These indexes contain references that have been cited in other articles. You can use these citations to perform cited reference searches (locate articles that cite an earlier publication). How to export to RefWorks
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff JSTOR
Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately one year ago. Disciplines include botany, business, ecology, general science, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, and statistics. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. Especially good for historic or classic articles in most fields. Coverage: 1665 to present. How to export to RefWorks
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Project MUSE
Project Muse provides full-text access to the content from over 400 scholarly journals in the humanities and the social sciences. How to export to RefWorks
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Cambridge Companions
Offers introductions to major writers, artists, philosophers, topics and periods.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Cambridge Histories Online
Includes more than 260 volumes from the esteemed Cambridge Histories and covers 14 subject areas including General History, Regional History, Literary Studies, Philosophy, and Religious Studies.

Library Catalogs

OU Library Catalog Use the catalog to find books or journal titles owned by Kresge Library. Search for authors last name first, e.g. Chaucer, Geoffrey. Famous anonymous works are themselves subjects under a uniform title, e.g. "Gawain and the Green Knight."

WorldCat Catalog listing library holdings worldwide (search will find electronic records too).

If a catalog search indicates that OU does NOT own a book/journal title, a link to ILLiad and MelCat (catalog listing library holdings statewide) will appear. Follow these links to initiate a request to have the item sent (physically or scanned) to you.

Library Contact
Picture: Emily Spunaugle

Emily Spunaugle
Assistant Professor, Humanities Librarian
spunaugle@oakland.edu
248.370.2498

 

 
Other Reference Resources

The Bedford Glossary of Critical and Literary Terms Definitions of more than 700 literary and critical terms for today's student. (Ref. PN 44.5 .M86 2009).

Chronology of World History
Year by year listing of important events in politics, science, and the arts (including literature).  A quick way to get a picture of what was happening in Medieval England (Ref. D 11 .M39 1999 v. 1).

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Oxford English Dictionary
The definitive historical dictionary of the English language. This dictionary covers English words from 1150 CE to present, and provides etymology and quotations illustrating usage.
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Credo Reference
Provides online access to encyclopedias, almanacs, and other reference tools.
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Dictionary of Literary Biography
Provides more than 16,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres. DLB Complete Online includes the DLB main series, the DLB Documentary Series, and the DLB Yearbook Series.

 


RefWorks

Refworks allows you to create a personal database of references and automatically generate formatted bibliographies for your projects.

Writing Help

Writing Resources for Students
Find in-depth information about the mechanics of writing, MLA/APA citations, avoiding plagiarism, and more.

Writing Center
The consultants can help you with every stage of the writing process.

Ask A Librarian - Chat


Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News