OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO ENG 5200 Introduction to Graduate Studies in English -- Grimm

Bibliography of Editions
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff WorldCat
A catalog of materials owned by libraries worldwide. How to export to RefWorks

English Short Title Catalogue Catalog for all known books printed in England or its dependencies or elsewhere in the English language, before 1801.

Conduct a search in MLA International Bibliography for your author and bibliography as subject terms. An enumerative or descriptive bibliography will often include a list of editions.
Establishing Reception
Conduct a search in  MLA International Bibliography for your author and bibliography as a keyword. An enumerative or descriptive bibliography will often include a "Reviews" section. See example here.

Tip: For journals linked from Hathitrust, search the year (and year after) in which your text was published.

18C
The Monthly Review 1752-1826.
The Critical Review 1756-1814.
The Quarterly Review 1809-1967.
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff American Periodicals Online Series
This source includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from 1740-1940. Titles range from Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine and America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository; popular magazines such as Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home Journal; regional and niche publications; and groundbreaking journals like The Dial, Puck, and McClure's.

19C
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff American Periodicals Online Series
This source includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from 1740-1940. Titles range from Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine and America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository; popular magazines such as Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home Journal; regional and niche publications; and groundbreaking journals like The Dial, Puck, and McClure's.
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Harper's Weekly America's leading magazine, coverage: 1857-1889.
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff JSTOR Contains some 19C literary journals.
The Quarterly Review 1809-1967.
The Monthly Review 1752-1826.

20-21C
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff JSTOR Contains some 20C literary journals.
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff American Periodicals Online Series
This source includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from 1740-1940. Titles range from Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine and America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository; popular magazines such as Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home Journal; regional and niche publications; and groundbreaking journals like The Dial, Puck, and McClure's.
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Arts and Humanities Citation Index
Provides indexing coverage of the journal literature in the arts and humanities, including literature, music and film studies. Provides information on who has cited a researcher's work. Coverage: 1975 - present. How to export to RefWorks
The Quarterly Review 1809-1967.
 
Library Contact
Picture: Emily Spunaugle

Emily Spunaugle
Assistant Professor, Humanities Librarian
spunaugle@oakland.edu
248.370.2498

Finding Literary Scholarship
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff MLA International Bibliography
A subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. It is produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), an organization dedicated to the study and teaching of language and literature. The electronic version of the Bibliography dates back to 1925 and contains over 2 million citations from more than 4,400 periodicals (including peer-reviewed e-journals) and 1,000 book publishers.
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Project MUSE
Project Muse provides full-text access to the content from over 400 scholarly journals in the humanities and the social sciences. How to export to RefWorks
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff JSTOR
Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately one year ago. Disciplines include botany, business, ecology, general science, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, and statistics. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. Especially good for historic or classic articles in most fields. Coverage: 1665 to present. How to export to RefWorks
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Cambridge Companions
Offers introductions to major writers, artists, philosophers, topics and periods.
Year's Work in English Studies (YWES): catch up on the most recent scholarly conversations in major periods and major authors with this yearly summary.
 
Literary Reference Tools
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Cambridge Histories Online
More than 260 volumes from the esteemed Cambridge Histories series covering 14 subject areas including general and regional history, literary studies, philosophy and religious studies.
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Dictionary of Literary Biography (DLB)
Provides more than 16,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres. DLB Complete Online includes the DLB main series, the DLB Documentary Series, and the DLB Yearbook Series.
Dictionary of Literary Terms and Literary Theory
Find Books

Library OneSearch
Use the catalog to find books, videos, recordings, and goverment documents we have at the library.

MelCat
A statewide catalog of many of Michigan's libraries. It allows you to request books at another library be sent to Kresge Library for you.


Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News