OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO CEGI 13000 - Saudi Experience Teaching Lab

Case Study Characteristics
Case studies investigate a phenomenon in its real-life context. May also be known as "empirical research." Case studies will have a common structure to look for including:
  • Abstract Section -  a summary of the article
  • Introduction - background information and problem
  • Hypothesis - presents the problem/question to be investigated
  • Methods Section -  explains the research design
  • Results Section - presents the results of the research
  • Discussion - evaluates the results as it relates to the hypothesis
  • References - list of all sources used to support research
Finding Case Studies
ERIC is a popular scholarly database for education research. To limit to case studies, you can:
  1. check the "Scholarly Journals" box to ensure results are scholarly articles
  2. check "Reports - Research" as your Document Type
  3. In your search results, examine the abstract, article, and subject terms for the common elements such as methods, results, discussion sections
Databases to Try
ERIC - in document type, limit to "Reports - Research"

PsycINFO - in methodology, try limiting to "Clinical Case Study," "Non-Clinical Study," or "Empirical Study."

Education Full Text - in document type, limit to "Case Study"

See the full list of Education databases to search
Finding Information
Find a Specific Article

To locate and retrieve articles or books that are cited in a bibliography or Works Cited page, use Library OneSearch or the Library Catalog to determine if Kresge Library has access to the item. For example, to find the article:

Auerbach, S. (2010). Beyond Coffee with the Principal: Toward Leadership for Authentic School-Family Partnerships. Journal of School Leadership 20 (6): 728-757.

The most direct ways to search are by:

  1. Title in Library OneSearch. Use the article title - Beyond coffee with the principal: Toward leadership for authentic school-family partnerships - not the title of the journal (Journal of School Leadership).
  2. Journal Title in the Library Catalog.  Use the title of the journal - Journal of School Leadership - NOT the title of the article.
The results of both searches indicate that the University Library has access to this article online.
Dissertations & Theses
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Dissertations and Theses
This database is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world. It includes materials from 1861 to the present day. How to export to RefWorks

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Dissertations and Theses @ OU
Full text access to Oakland University dissertations and theses. How to export to RefWorks
Cited Reference Searching Resources
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Google Scholar
You can check the availability of article full text if you use our link to Google Scholar, which will ask you to log in with your OU NetID. How to export to RefWorks See our guide to adding OU Libraries resources to Google Scholar

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Web of Science
Web of Science provides access to Science Citation Index (SCI), Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) and Arts and Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI). These indexes contain references that have been cited in other articles. You can use these citations to perform cited reference searches (locate articles that cite an earlier publication). How to export to RefWorks
RefWorks

Refworks allows you to create a personal database of references and automatically generate formatted bibliographies for your projects.

Research Assistance

Ask a Librarian
Ask a research question by phone, chat, email, or in person at the research help desk.

Research Consultation
Sign up online for an individual session with a librarian to get help with your research.


Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News