OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO EXS 3020 - Human Motion Analysis

Find books/ebooks, academic journals..
START by exploring Library OneSearch (includes books, ebooks, academic journals, newspapers)

*Try search terms like "Isokinetic exercise" and use facets on left to narrow by source type - choose " "

Ebook packages for Health Sciences - range of topics Human Anatomy, PT and more
SUGGESTED EXERCISE SCIENCE DATABASES
Research Literature - first start with these databases:

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff CINAHL Plus with Full-Text  The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) is a comprehensive and highly-authoritative database for research in nursing and health sciences.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff SPORTDiscus Topics include physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, physical education, kinesiology, health education, biomechanics, movement science, injury prevention, physical therapy, rehabilitation, nutrition, exercise physiology, sport psychology, occupational health & therapy, and public health. 

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Web of Science Web of Science provides access to Science Citation Index (SCI), articles in the Sport Sciences and others.

Research Literature - then try these databases:
Unrestricted Resource PubMed (MEDLINE)  
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Medline via Web of Science  The National Library of Medicine's free interface for MEDLINE, the premier database for biomedical journal citations. MEDLINE dates back to 1946 and includes more than 20 million citations in medicine, nursing, allied health and dentistry.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Scopus  Largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed research literature supporting research needs in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields and arts and humanities.

General background and patient information: 

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff AccessPhysiotherapy
Collection of full-text books, multi-media and study aids from McGraw-Hill for physical therapists and other health care providers. Includes "Anatomy and Physiology Revealed."
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff ClinicalKey  Medical and surgical content from Elsevier, including more than 900 books, 500 journals, thousands of videos and millions of images. To access the PDF, please log in or register for a free account with your institutional subscription.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Netter Reference
Anatomical images from Netter's "Green Books," Netter's Atlas of Human Anatomy and Netter's Concise Radiologic Anatomy.

View entire list of exercise science related databases.
View the list of databases by subject catagory

 
If you need...source chart
Evaluating sources chart

Six Things to Consider about any information source.....

1. Authority - Who is the author/developer? What are her/his qualifications? What are the affiliations, if any?
2. Currency -
Is the material current, updated regularly?
3. Coverage -
Is the information complete? Are there sources given for additional information?
4. Accuracy -
How do you know the information contained is correct? Are the facts cited, can they be checked?
5. Objectivity/Bias -
Is the information presented objectively? What bias might the authors/creators have?
6. Appropriateness -
Is this a good source for academic / scholarly level research?



CLICK IMAGE TO ENLARGE


Library Contact
Picture: Julia Rodriguez

Julia Rodriguez
Associate Professor / Nursing, Health Sciences & Scholarly Communications Librarian
juliar@oakland.edu

Schedule a research consultation (Fall & Winter only)
 
Post-library session survey
In effort to always improve my research sessions please complete the quick survey.  Answers to the survey are anonymous. I know everyone is really busy so thank you for this is extra effort.

CLICK HERE TO COMPLETE SURVEY


 
Characteristics of a source
There are different reasons to use each of these different types of information sources.
  • Books – Authors may be experts or not. Usually well researched but maybe not as up-to-date
  • Academic journals (peer-reviewed) Written by scholars for a scholarly audience - cite their sources (facts)
  • Popular magazines - Written by staff and freelance (non-experts) writers for a general (non-academic) audience
  • Trade magazines - provide information about current trends and practices to practitioners in the field
  • Newspapers - Written by staff and freelance (non-expert) writers, provide information about current events, especially from a local perspective
  • Web resources– can be created by a variety of sources -commercial, non-profit, education, government, individuals

     
How to know if it's peer-reviewed
Writing Help

The Writing Center at Oakland University will assist developing their ideas into polished final products. The Center's services are in high demand so be sure to plan ahead when scheduling an appointment.

Citation Help
Kresge Library subcriptions include free access for the OU community to RefWorks a web-based citation managment system.

Citation Style Guides:
The Council of Science Editors scientific style of documentation (ONLINE GUIDE) is used in the biological sciences and many other fields of scientific study.

BOOK
Scientific style and format : the CSE manual for authors, editors, and publishers / Style Manual Committee, Council of Science Editors. 2006  Location:Reference - 2nd Floor South (Non-Circulating)
Call Number: T 11 .S386 2006

 

Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News