OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO Environmental and Public Health Resources

Health Outcomes
CDC State Cancer Profiles:
Cancer profiles by state and type of cancer, including comparison to US rate, historical rates and trends, mortality, death rate by state and counties, age-adjusted death rates, incidence rates, and data by U.S. census races and sex.
 
County Health Rankings and Roadmap:
Ranks most counties on demographics, built environment, employment, income, mortality and morbidity, and social, physical and environmental factors.
 
CDC Foodborne Outbreak Online Database:
Lists cases (suspected and confirmed) of outbreaks by year, state and type of outbreak, including location of consumption, hospitalizations, deaths and food vehicle/contaminated ingredient.
 
Vaccine Preventable Outbreaks Map:
Maps the cases of diseases that we already have vaccines for. Outbreaks are mapped from 2008 and is updated weekly with new cases. 
General Public Health
Bloomberg’s US Coronary Stent Hot Spots:
US mapping project of percutaneous coronary stent procedures per Medicare enrollees, how often these procedures are performed per scans of coronary arteries and the number of diagnosed ischemia cases (or reduced cardiac blood flow).
 
Gap Minder:
Global information in great, visual graphs (“trendalyzer”) of public health data, including land cover, water usage, emissions, natural disasters, income, energy, etc.
 
City-Data.com:
Mapping program that allows you to map racial designations and ancestry, marriage status, population, employment, commute, homosexual households, income, housing characteristics, education, age, industry, occupation, institutions and health centers, etc. within the U.S. down to Census block group level. 
Environment, Geography, and Health
US EPA EJ Screen
An environmental justice mapping program that allows you to create maps displaying demographics, cancer, mortality and low birth weight rates, NAAQS compliance, Toxic Release Inventory and facility information, and locations of institutions (schools, hospitals, places of worship), brownfields, Superfund sites, etc.
 
NationalMap.gov (replaces national atlas mapmaker) Maps farmland (by type), bird and amphibian distributions, ecoregions (including fragmentation), invasive species, land cover, political boundaries, expenditures by regions, presidential voting results, precipitation, natural hazard events, hazardous waste releases and shipments, TRI data, national priority list sites, water discharge permits, coal fields and other mineral deposits, geology, topography, crime, poverty, economics, energy consumption, population, health (mortality, mortality during pregnancy and birth outcomes), transportation, aquifers, arsenic in groundwater, dams, streams and surface water, water use, etc.

US National Atlas Steamer:
Allows you to trace a stream’s downstream path and visualize watersheds in the U.S.  
 
Walkability score for neighborhoods:
Based on an address, neighborhood or city, you are given a score based on the walkability, including an explanation of the score.
 
The Guardian’s Climate Change Interactive: How hot will it get in my lifetime?
Based on UN data, given your year of birth, the program provides you with graphs of global temperatures from the 1860s to present and indicates the increase during your lifetime, remaining work years and retirement, for the lifetime of a child born today and for future generations (based on two different projections, and 2007 and 2013 estimates). 
Environmental Pollutants and Use/Production
US EPA TRI Search:
Allows you to search facilities or chemicals for toxic release inventory data.
 
US EPA TRI my-Right-to-Know:
(Located at the bottom of the page) Allows you to search on-site releases, a 3-year history of each facility’s compliance, the media of pollution releases and health impacts of chemicals, for a given area for toxic release inventory data.
 
US EPA TRI Explorer:
Allows you to search a given geographic area based on chemicals released, facilities, industry, geography and by trends for on and off-site releases. Includes facility and chemical information for toxic release inventory data.
 
US EPA ECHO (Enforcement and Compliance History Online):
Allows you to search facilities by community to show their compliance with environmental regulations and what formal enforcement actions have been taken. Includes information on facilities, including compliance, air and water pollution discharges and toxicants released (reported to TRI).
 
Good Guide’s Scorecard:
A pollution report for geographic areas (zip code) that combines census and TRI data, including information on how rankings compare to national averages, and assessments based on toxics, water, air and environmental justice.
 
USA Today’s The Smokestack Effect:
You can look up schools or geographic areas (state, county, city) to see how they rate nationally in terms of industrial pollutants released (based on the TRI) in surrounding areas.
 
USGS National Pesticide Synthesis Project:
Maps use of common pesticides across the U.S. and the amount used geographically and for what types of food crops (data start in 1992). The website also has graphics of groundwater contamination of certain pesticides (on home page).
 
Air Quality Index (AQI):
Provides real-time air quality measures (PM2.5, PM10, O3, NO2, SO2, CO, temperature, dew-point, pressure, humidity, and wind) for cities around the world. Some Air quality measures are rates to the air quality index for a health rating (good, moderate, unhealthy for sensitive groups, unhealthy, very unhealthy, and hazardous).
 
Center for Disease Dynamics, Economics & Policy (CDDEP): Resistance Maps:
Displays antibiotic use and resistance maps for the world. 
Local & State programs
Data Driven Detroit:
Primarily has demographics information and mapping tools, but also information on schools, social programs, housing and land cover.
 
Michigan Department of Environmental Quality Environmental Mapper:
Allows you to map legislative districts, watersheds, and locations of land use restriction (of notices of corrective action or aesthetic impacts, environmental remediation, and other “institutional controls”) and environmental management (sites of leaking underground storage tanks, environmental contamination, and of active and closed underground storage tanks). GIS data (shapefiles) of layers can also be downloaded.
 
MIAir: Michigan Air Quality Index:
Provides air quality information of various cities throughout Michigan, through the Michigan Department of Environmental Quality. Air quality data measured through PM2.5, ozone, temperature, wind speed, and wind direction, and ranks some parameters as healthy or unhealthy.
 
Louisiana iWitness Pollution Map:
Produced by the Louisiana Bucket Brigade (LABB), iWitness uses the Ushahidi crowd-sourcing platform to map eyewitness accounts of chemical accidents in Louisiana and off the coast (via text messages, emails and web notification/articles). This is in a heavily industry (main of which in petroleum) area.
 
Vermont Department of Health Tick Tracker:
The public can report any ticks they encounter and view other reports (including tick type, number and date spotted).
 
Vermont Community Water System Data:
Provides annual data, maps, and graphs of water pollutants (haloacetic acids, arsenic, nitrates, atrazine, PCE, TCE, uranium, radium, DEHP) from 1999 in public community water systems by country. 
Your Impact
BBC’s 7 Billion People and You:
Given your birthdate, you can see the population size when you were born, your nation’s population, and given your gender and national residency, your life expectancy (and how each statistic compares to other countries).
 
Ecological Footprint Quiz:
Estimates overall ecological footprint based on home/yard care, diet, energy use, travel, consumer characteristics and waste, and provides the number of “earths” needed if all people lived to those means (including footprint by carbon, food, housing and goods/services).
 
EPA Household Emissions Footprint Calculator:
Estimates personal or family greenhouse gas emissions (including by energy use, vehicles and waste), compares to national average and suggests methods to reduce emissions.
 
National Geographic Water Footprint Calculator:
Estimates your water footprint based on home/yard care, diet, energy and consumer characteristics.
 
BBC Fuel Price Calculator:
Calculates how much you pay for fuel and how that compares to how much people in other countries pay. 

Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News