OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO FRH 380 - Survey of French Literature

Background information
Découverte du poème: introduction à l'explication de textes(Ref.PQ401 .D8)
Guide to French poetry explication (Ref. PQ 401 .C65 1993)

The Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Cambridge Companions provide overviews of literary movements, periods and authors. They include extensive bibliographies. See for example The Cambridge Companion to Moliere, The Cambridge Companion to Flaubert, The Cambridge Companion to Sartre and The Cambridge Companion to Camus.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism
Historical survey of the most important critics and theorists, critical schools, and movements in literary theory and criticism. Includes more than 240 alphabetically arranged entries, including the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods. See entries on French theory and criticism, organized by period. There are also entries on specific critics like Flaubert, Foucault or Rousseau.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Dictionary of Literary Biography
An extensive scholarly reference book covering authors, books and various topics in literature. Each chapter provides an extensive bibliography. Of special interest:

Scholarly articles
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff MLA Bibliography
The most comprehensive database to search for books, book chapters, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, and folklore. To learn how to search for articles on French literature in MLA, view our tutorial (4mn).

JSTOR
Hundreds of full-text journals in a variety of subject areas, including French / Francophone literature and history. Coverage of most journals extends back to the journal's first issue (sometimes in the 1800s) up to, but not including the last few years. How to export to RefWorks:  Tips for searching: always choose "advanced search"; select "History" or "Language and Literature" from the list of disciplines.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Project MUSE
A collection of journals in the humanities and social sciences, including French studies. How to export to RefWorks

Important journals in French studies:More journals on French literature at Kresge Library: French literature History and criticism Periodicals.
List of French-language journals and reviews
(maintained by the French department at Lehman College, CUNY)
Digital collections
 Gallica: the digital library of the Bibliothèque Nationale de France.
 
Persée: online collection of French scholarly journals in open access.

Cairn.info: another online collection of French scholarly journals, including French literature, in open access.

Isidore: a new search engine that searches the collections of Cairn, Persee, and many more online resources in the humanities and social sciences.

ARTFL Project: ARTFL databases (only some offer public access) represent "nearly 3,000 texts, ranging from classic works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing. The eighteenth, nineteenth and twentieth centuries are about equally represented, with a smaller selection of seventeenth century texts as well as some medieval and Renaissance texts.  Genres include novels, verse, theater, journalism, essays, correspondence, and treatises. Subjects include literary criticism, biology, history, economics, and philosophy."
Find Books

Library Catalog
Use the catalog to find books, videos, recordings, and goverment documents we have at the library.

MelCat
A statewide catalog of many of Michigan's libraries. It allows you to request books at another library be sent to Kresge Library for you.

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan
You may request materials we don't have and we'll borrow them from another library for you.

RefWorks

Refworks allows you to create a personal database of references and automatically generate formatted bibliographies for your projects.

Writing Help

Writing Resources for Students
Find in-depth information about the mechanics of writing, MLA/APA citations, avoiding plagiarism, and more.

Writing Center
The consultants can help you with every stage of the writing process.

Research Assistance

Ask a Librarian
Ask a research question by phone, chat, email, or in person at the research help desk.

Research Consultation
Sign up online for an individual session with a librarian to get help with your research.

Library Contact
Picture: Dominique Daniel

Dominique Daniel
Humanities Librarian for History and Modern Languages
daniel@oakland.edu
248.370.2478

To make an appointment:

Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News