A number of volumes focus on French medieval literature:
- Cambridge Companion to Medieval Romance
- Cambridge Companion to Medieval French Literature
- Cambridge Companion to Medieval Women's Writing
Some of these Companions are also available in print.Dictionary of Literary Bibliography: An extensive scholarly reference book covering authors, books and various topics in literature. Each chapter provides a bibliography.
Handbook of Medieval Studies: Terms, Methods, Trends
The Handbook of Medieval Culture
Use the catalog to find books, videos, recordings, and goverment documents we have at the library.
A statewide catalog of many of Michigan's libraries. It allows you to request books at another library be sent to Kresge Library for you.
A subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. It is produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), an organization dedicated to the study and teaching of language and literature. The electronic version of the Bibliography dates back to 1925 and contains over 2 million citations from more than 4,400 periodicals (including peer-reviewed e-journals) and 1,000 book publishers.
JSTOR and Project MUSE
Full text of numerous journals in French studies, history, literary criticism, and more
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, the history of education, and more. Provides indexing of more than 1700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages since 1955. How to export to RefWorks
To find the text of articles that are not directly available online in the database you are using, be sure to click the link to determine if the article is available in another database or in print in the library.
See also the Medieval History pathfinder.
The digital library of the French Bibliothèque Nationale provides online access to the full text of numerous French works, including several editions of La vie de Saint Alexis, La Chanson de Roland and to Le miracle de Théophile. It also has critical studies on these as well as on Le roman d'Eneas, Tristan et Yseut, Merlin and Le chemin de longue étude.
An online database of French language scholarly journals in the humanities, it includes numerous materials on French medieval literature.
- Erec et Enide ( Project Gutenberg or Classical and Medieval Library)
- Chanson de Roland (Project Gutemberg or Classical and Medieval Library)
- Le roman d'Eneas (excerpts)
- Tristan et Yseut (Project Gutemberg)
Arthur: de l'histoire à la littérature
A wonderful online exhibit of the Bibliothèque Nationale de France, it contains in-depth information and beautiful illustrations, including pages on Merlin and Chrétien de Troyes, and digital versions of Histoire de Merlin and other volumes.
Another exhibit of the BNF, it contains images, videos, digital versions of Roman de Renart and other works, and much more!
Humanities Librarian for History and Modern Languages
Book an appointment
Ask a Librarian
Ask a research question by phone, chat, email, or in person at the research help desk.
Sign up online for an individual session with a librarian to get help with your research.
Refworks allows you to create a personal database of references and automatically generate formatted bibliographies for your projects.