The most comprehensive database to search for books, book chapters, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, and folklore.
Hundreds of full-text journals in a variety of subject areas, including French / Francophone literature and history. Coverage of most journals extends back to the journal's first issue (sometimes in the 1800s) up to, but not including the last few years. How to export to RefWorks: Tips for searching: always choose "advanced search"; select "History" or "Language and Literature" from the list of disciplines.
A collection of journals in the humanities and social sciences, including French studies. How to export to RefWorks
Key journal in French studies:French literature History and criticism Periodicals.
List of French-language journals and reviews (maintained by the French department at Lehman College, CUNY)
The digital library of the French Bibliothèque Nationale provides online access to various editions of classics like the Bourgeois Gentilhomme, La Princesse de Clèves, and many others. It also includes critical studies published in French periodicals.
An online database of French language scholarly journals in the humanities, it provides access to the full-text of its articles.
Another online digital library in the humanities, with free access to full text.
English translations online
- Le Bourgeois Gentilhomme ( Project Gutenberg)
- La Princesse de Clèves (Project Gutenberg)
- Manon Lescaut (Project Gutenberg)
- Candide (Project Gutenberg)
- a selection of comedies by Marivaux (Project Gutenberg, in French with introduction and notes in English)
Original manuscripts online
- Les Liaisons Dangereuses (Gallica)
Some volumes focus on French literature of the 17th and 18th centuries:Dictionary of Literary Bibliography
An extensive scholarly reference book covering authors, books and various topics in literature. Each chapter provides a bibliography. See the entries on
Refworks allows you to create a personal database of references and automatically generate formatted bibliographies for your projects.
Humanities Librarian for History and Modern Languages