OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO FRH 4170 - 17th and 18th Century French Literature

Find scholarly articles
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff MLA Bibliography
The most comprehensive database to search for books, book chapters, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, and folklore.

JSTOR
Hundreds of full-text journals in a variety of subject areas, including French / Francophone literature and history. Coverage of most journals extends back to the journal's first issue (sometimes in the 1800s) up to, but not including the last few years. How to export to RefWorks:  Tips for searching: always choose "advanced search"; select "History" or "Language and Literature" from the list of disciplines.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Project MUSE
A collection of journals in the humanities and social sciences, including French studies. How to export to RefWorks

Key journal in French studies:More journals on French literature at Kresge Library: French literature History and criticism Periodicals.

List of French-language journals and reviews
(maintained by the French department at Lehman College, CUNY)
Web resources
Gallica
The digital library of the French Bibliothèque Nationale provides online access to various editions of classics like the Bourgeois Gentilhomme, La Princesse de Clèves, and many others. It also includes critical studies published in French periodicals.

Persée
An online database of French language scholarly journals in the humanities, it provides access to the full-text of its articles.

Cairn
Another online digital library in the humanities, with free access to full text.

English translations online

Original manuscripts online

Find Books

Library Catalog
Use the catalog to find books, videos, recordings, and goverment documents we have at the library.

MelCat
A statewide catalog of many of Michigan's libraries. It allows you to request books at another library be sent to Kresge Library for you.

Background information

Cambridge Companions

Some volumes focus on French literature of the 17th and 18th centuries:

Dictionary of Literary Bibliography

An extensive scholarly reference book covering authors, books and various topics in literature. Each chapter provides a bibliography. See the entries on

Plagiarism (30 mn tutorial)
Learn more about Incorporating and citing sources (a 30 mn tutorial on plagiarism; followed by a 10-question quiz)
Other tutorials
Review tips to improve Keyword searching strategies

Take advantage of Kresge Library's access to  Google Scholar

RefWorks

Refworks allows you to create a personal database of references and automatically generate formatted bibliographies for your projects.

Research Assistance

Ask a Librarian
Ask a research question by phone, chat, email, or in person at the research help desk.

Research Consultation
Sign up online for an individual session with a librarian to get help with your research.

Library Contact
Picture: Dominique Daniel

Dominique Daniel
Humanities Librarian for History and Modern Languages
daniel@oakland.edu
248.370.2478

On sabbatical fall 2017.
Contact the research help desk

Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News