OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO Graphic Design

Image Resources

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff ARTstor
ARTstor is a nonprofit digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences with a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.


AIGA Design Archives https://designarchives.aiga.org/#/home

Design is History http://www.designishistory.com  
(Good overview of Graphic Design industry; however uses some Wikipedia Links so be careful to check references)

Rochester Institute of Technology/ Cary Graphic Arts Collection
http://library.rit.edu/cary/

Library of Congress Digital Collections
http://www.loc.gov/collections/?fa=partof%3Aprints+and+photographs+division

New York Public Library Digital Collections
http://digitalcollections.nypl.org

Huntington Library: The Jay T. Last Collection of Graphic Arts and Social History
http://hdl.huntington.org/cdm/landingpage/collection/p16003coll4

Creative Commons Search 

Important Books on the use of Images
How to Use Images Lindsey Marshall & Lester Meacham (ebook)

ADVERTISING

Duke University Library Advertising Collections
Smithsonian National Museum of American History/ Advertising Collection
http://americanhistory.si.edu/collections/subjects/advertising

University of Washington/ Early Advertising Collection of  the West: 1867-1918
http://content.lib.washington.edu/advertweb/index.html

J. Walter Thompson / History of Advertising
https://www.jwt.com/history/

Winterthur Museum of Americana/ Advertising Ephemera
http://content.winterthur.org:2011/cdm/landingpage/collection/advertising

POSTERS
Important Books on Poster Design

Presenting Shakespeare: 1100 Posters from Around the WorldMirko Ilic & Stephen Heller PR 3091 .I55 2015
New Masters of Poster Design: Poster Design for the Next CenturyJohn Foster NC 1806.9 .F67 2006


Library of Congress/ Printed Ephemera: Three Centuries of Broadsides and Other Printed Ephemera
http://www.loc.gov/collections/broadsides-and-other-printed-ephemera/about-this-collection/

New York Public Library/ Digital Poster Collections
http://digitalcollections.nypl.org/search/index?utf8=?&keywords=posters#/?scroll=212

Colorado State University: The International Poster
https://lib2.colostate.edu/posters/


London Transport Museum Poster Collection
http://www.ltmcollection.org/posters/index.html

Library Company of Philadelphia/ 18th & 19th Century Printed & Graphic Ephemera Collection
http://digital.librarycompany.org/islandora/search/printed and graphic ephemera?type=edismax

Princeton Library/ Digital Archive of Latin American and Caribbean Printed Ephemera
http://lae.princeton.edu

EPHEMERA
Ephemera Society of America
http://ephemerasociety.org/index.html

Free Images Online
Morgue File 
https://morguefile.com/

Flickr   https://www.flickr.com/

Creative Commons https://ccsearch.creativecommons.org/

Wikimedia Commons https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/Category:Images
Demographic and Market Research
Public Domain travel poster  
Several resources from OU Libraries and the open web will allow you to research basic information about your target population. 
Marketing Information--Journal Articles
Using these databases, you can search for information on how others have marketed to your target audience.
Citing Demographics Now
Examples of APA style, courtesy The Bentley Library:

DemographicsNow. (2012). Boston, MA demographic detail summary [Data]. Retrieved June 21, 2012, from DemographicsNow database.

DemographicsNow. (2012). Boston, MA and San Francisco household comparison [Data]. Retrieved May 1, 2012, from DemographicsNow database.

DemographicsNow. (2012). Whole Foods [Company profile]. Retrieved June 17 2012, from DemographicsNow database.

DemographicsNow. (2012). Custom business search, NAICS Code 447 (gasoline stations) in Middlesex County, MA [Data]. Retrieved June 21, 2012, from DemographicsNow database.

Experian Marketing Services. (n.d.). Type G25: Urban edge. Mosaic USA. Retrieved March 26, 2015, from DemographicsNow database.

 
Library Contact
Picture: Katie Greer

Katie Greer
Associate Professor
greer@oakland.edu
248.370.2480

Research Assistance

Ask a Librarian
Ask a research question by phone, chat, email, or in person at the research help desk.

Research Consultation
Sign up online for an individual session with a librarian to get help with your research.

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan
You may request materials we don't have and we'll borrow them from another library for you.

Resources in these sections were compiled by Diane Vermette but are not updated--for additional materials, please search Library OneSearch or use our interlibrary loan services:
MelCat
WorldCat
Graphic Designers/ Movements
The Premier Website for Graphic Design Professionals
AIGA / Professional Association for Design

http://www.aiga.org/

List of Top Graphic Designers/ Art Directors & Awards
AIGA/ Medalists  http://www.aiga.org/medal
AGI/ Alliance Graphique Internationale http://a-g-i.org/
ADC Awards (Art Director's Club) http://adcglobal.org/awards/
International Design Awards http://idesignawards.com/about.html
AGDA/ Australian Graphic Design Association http://www.agda.com.au/?globalCategory=
Design Culture/ Italy http://www.designculture.it/index.html
School of Visual Arts: The Masters Series http://www.sva.edu/page/the-masters-series

Important Books on Designers
Gustav Klimt: Art Nouveau Visionary/ Eva De Stefano  N 6811.5 .K55 D513 2008
A Designer's Art/ Paul Rand NC 997 .R278 1985
Milton Glaser: Graphic Design (Available through MelCat) http://elibrary.mel.org/search
Make it Big/  Paula Scher / Kresge Library EBook -Full Text Online
Things I Have Learned in my Life So Far/ Stefan Sagmeister
Tibor Kalman: Perverse Optimist (Available through MelCat) http://elibrary.mel.org/search
Women Designers in the USA: 1900-2000: Diversity and Difference (Available through MelCat) http://elibrary.mel.org/search

Key Design Periods and Movements
Important Books on Graphic Design History/ Movements
Graphic Style: From Victorian to New Modern/ Steven Heller & Seymour Chwast
NC 998.2 .H45 1988
 
  • Victorian
The Victorian Web
http://www.victorianweb.org/art/design/index.html
  • Arts and Crafts Movement
Important Books on the Arts and Crafts Movement
William Morris: By HImself : Designs and Writings / Wm. Morris N 6797 .M5885 A4 1988
William Morris: Linda Parry NK 1535 .M67 A4 1996a

Victoria & Albert Museum/ William Morris http://www.vam.ac.uk/page/w/william-morris/
New York Metropolitan Museum/ Heilbrun Timeline/ The Arts and Crafts Movement in America https://www.metmuseum.org/toah/hd/acam/hd_acam.htm
  • Art Nouveau
Important Books on Art Nouveau
Art Nouveau: 1890-1914/ Paul Greenhalgh
NK 775.5 .A7 A785 2000
Art Noveau/ Stephen Escritt N 6465 .A7 E737 2000

Alphons Mucha/ The Mucha Foundation http://www.muchafoundation.org
New York Metropolitan Museum/ Heilbrun Timeline/ Art Nouveau https://www.metmuseum.org/toah/hd/artn/hd_artn.htm
Europeana Collections: Art Nouveau https://www.europeana.eu/portal/en/exhibitions/art-nouveau-2011
  • The Glasgow School/ The Vienna Secession
Important Books on the Glasgow School and the Vienna Secession
Charles Rennie Mackintosh: Life and Work/ James Macaulay NA 997 .M3 M26 2010
Art in Vienna: 1898-1918: Klimt, Kokoschka, Schiele and their Contemporaries /Peter Vergo (Available through MelCat) http://elibrary.mel.org/search
Kolomon Moser: Master of Viennese Modernism/ Maria Rennhofer
N 6811.5 .M6 R46 2002
 
  • Pictorial Modernism/ Art Deco
Important Books on Pictorial Modernism/ Art Deco
Euro Deco/ Steven Heller& Louise Fili NC 998.6 .E87 H45 2004

Victoria & Albert Museum/ Art Deco https://www.vam.ac.uk/collections/art-deco

Guggenheim Museum/ New York/ De Stijl https://www.guggenheim.org/artwork/movement/de-stijl
  • Bauhaus/ New Typography
The New Typography/ Jan Tschichold 
Z 116 .A5 T7513 2006
The Bauhaus Group: Six Masters of Modernism/ Nicholas Fox Weber N 332 .G33 W483 2009

Bauhaus Archiv Museum/ Berlin https://www.bauhaus.de/en/
Bauhaus Dessau http://www.bauhaus-dessau.de/en/index.html
Print Magazine: The Swiss Style: the Principles, the Typefaces, the Designers http://www.printmag.com/typography/swiss-style-principles-typefaces-designers/
  • Modernism in America
Important Books on the Modernist Movement in America
Ink, Paper, Politics-WPA Era Printmaking from the Needles Collection / DePaul Art Museum
NE 508 .I55x 2014
Beyond Rosie the Riveter: Women of World War II in American Popular Graphic Art/  Donna B. Knaff NE 962.W65 K55 2012

Library of Congress: WPA Posters http://www.loc.gov/pictures/collection/wpapos/
Northwestern University: World War II Poster Collection https://images.northwestern.edu/catalog?f[institutional_collection_title_facet][]=World%20War%20II%20Poster%20Collection%20at%20Northwestern%20University%20Library
  • Postmodernism
Important Books on Postmodernism
Postmodernism: Style and Subversion, 1970-1990/ ed. Glenn Adamson & Jane Pavitt NX 456.5.P66 P673 2011


 
Typography/ Book Cover Design
Typography

Important Books on Typography
Adrian Frutiger-Typefaces: The Complete Works / Adrian Frutiger
NE 707.4 .F78 2014
Type: A Visual History of Typefaces and Graphic Styles: 1628-1900  / Cees de Jong & Alston Purvis Z 250 .A2 T953 2013
New Ornamental Type/ Stephen Heller and Gail Anderson
The Elements of Typographic Style/ Robert Bringhurst
Z 246 .B74 2012
Graphic Design before Graphic Designers: the Printer as Designer and Craftsman/ David Jury


Association Typographique Internationale http://www.atypi.org
A Short Introduction to Graphic Design History http://www.designhistory.org
Identifont http://www.identifont.com/index.html
Hamilton Wood Type and Printing Museum http://woodtype.org

Book & Magazine Cover Design
Publisher's Bindings Online: The Art of Books-Univeristy of Alabama
http://bindings.lib.ua.edu
Book Cover Archive: Includes Portfolio sites of Book Cover Designers http://bookcoverarchive.com
Norman Rockwell Museum/ Book Cover Art http://www.illustrationhistory.org/genres/book-cover
Saturday Evening Post/ Cover Art Archives http://www.saturdayeveningpost.com/sections/art-entertainment
Scrap Book of Russian Bookjackets: 1917-1942 http://digitalcollections.nypl.org/search/index?utf8=?&keywords=book+cover+design#

Videos
Chip Kidd: Designing Books is no Laughing Matter: TED talk http://www.ted.com/talks/chip_kidd_designing_books_is_no_laughing_matter_ok_it_is
Inside Random House: The Art of Cover Designhttps://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l2Z86L25v30
Tech & Trade/ How-To/ Media
Technique/ How-To

Important Books on Graphic Design Technology

Graphic Design Essentials : Skills, Software, and Creative Solutions/ Joyce Walsh Macario NC 1001 .M33 2009


Computer Software/ Tutorials
https://layersmagazine.com/tag/illustrator-tutorials
http://design.tutsplus.com/categories/graphic-design

HOW Design Blog
http://www.howdesign.com/how-design-blog/

The Vignelli Canon http://www.vignelli.com/canon.pdf
Abduzeedo http://abduzeedo.com/tutorial
3D Artist https://www.3dartistonline.com/
Creative Bloq http://www.creativebloq.com/
Digital Output http://www.digitaloutput.net/

TRENDS AND NEWS
AIGA Eye on Design
http://eyeondesign.aiga.org
Dezeen https://www.dezeen.com/
Communication Arts https://www.commarts.com/
Design Edge/ Canada http://designedgecanada.com
Design Observer http://designobserver.com/
Graphis http://www.graphis.com/
The Design Range http://www.thedesignrange.com/
Graphic Arts Monthly http://graphicartsmag.com
Eye http://www.eyemagazine.com/
Cultured http://www.culturedmag.com/
Creative Review/ UK https://www.creativereview.co.uk/
Icon http://www.iconeye.com
Azure Design http://www.azuremagazine.com/design/


 
Primary Sources/Tutorials

Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News