LIBRARY GUIDE TO GRM 3710 - Introduction to the Study of German Literature

• Dictionary of Literary Biography (DLB) (online)
  Authoritative biographical and critical essays on the lives and works of major German literary figures (online).

- literature of the early and high Middle Ages
- German writers of the Renaissance and Reformation, 1280-1580
- German baroque writers (1580-1660, 1661-1730)
- German writers, 1720-1764
- German writers in the age of Goethe, 1789-1832, Sturm and Drang to Classicism
- 20th century fiction writers: 1885-1913 and 1914-1945
 

• John Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism (online)
  Historical survey of the most important critics and theorists, critical schools, and movements in literary theory and criticism. Useful to learn about concepts and techniques of literary criticism. Has a section on German Theory and Criticism
   
• Cambridge Companions
  Online books on writers and literary movements, artists, philosophers, etc. For example a book on German Romanticism
   
• A New History of German Literature (print)
• Encyclopedia of German literature (online)
• The Feminist Encyclopedia of German Literature (print)
• The Oxford Companion to German Literature (print)

• Library OneSearch
• MelCat
  Find items at other Michigan libraries that can be requested through inter-library loan.
• WorldCat
  A catalog of materials owned by libraries worldwide. How to export to RefWorks. Use it to find items at other libraries that you can request through inter-library loan.

Tip:

• To find books about a particular author, enter the author’s name and select "subject" from the dropdown menu.
• To find books by a particular author, enter the author's name and select "author" from the dropdown menu.

MLA International Bibliography
The best database to find resources on German literature and the literature of other countries. Use the "Get It!" button to see if Kresge Library has a copy.

JSTOR and Project MUSE
Full text articles of journals in German studies, history, and literary criticism. Not as broad as MLA Bibliography

Historical Abstracts
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, the history of education, and more. Provides indexing of more than 1700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages since 1955. How to export to RefWorks
 

Note: In MLA International Bibliography you can search in English only. Results will include texts in English and in German.

In JSTOR and Project MUSE search in German for German-language articles. For more information:
 

• Searching for Foreign-Language Material in JSTOR

Library Guide to German

Library Guide to German History

Ask a Librarian
Ask a research question by phone, chat, email, or in person at the research help desk.

Research Consultation
Sign up online for an individual session with a librarian to get help with your research.

Refworks allows you to create a personal database of references and automatically generate formatted bibliographies for your projects.