OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO HC 1000 - First Year Colloquium

Identify a topic
Here are some tools to help find or refine a specific topic.

  • Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Credo Reference
    Provides online access to encyclopedias, almanacs, and other reference tools. Encyclopedias of all the major disciplines. A quick and easy way to get started! The "concept map" search allows you to explore general topics and refine them, using an interactive map of topics and subtopics (see video demonstration).
  • Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Thanks to Mel Opposing Viewpoints in Context : Easy to browse set of resources on controversial social issues.
  • Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Thanks to Mel Academic OneFile : Multidisciplinary mix of scholarly, journalistic, practitioner and popular sources. Use the list of related subjects to explore a topic. Use the tabs to identify scholarly, newspaper or other sources as necessary.
  • For discipline-specific information, see the library's specialized online encyclopedias.
Find Articles on your topic
You can use the following database for a specific discipline:

Business & Management: Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff ABI/Inform Complete
Computer Science: Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff ACM Digital Library
Education: Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff ERIC
Health Sciences, Nursing and MedicineRestricted to OU students, faculty, and staff CINAHL Plus with Full-Text
Social SciencesRestricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Social Sciences Full Text
 
Or you can search in the following general databases that cover all the disciplines:

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Thanks to Mel Academic OneFile
A huge and highly heterogeneous multidisciplinary mix of scholarly, journalistic, practitioner and popular sources, with much direct full-text included. Use the tabs to identify scholarly, newspaper or other sources as necessary. Thanks to MeL / How to export to RefWorks Coverage: 1980-present
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff JSTOR
Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately one year ago. Disciplines include botany, business, ecology, general science, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, and statistics. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. Especially good for historic or classic articles in most fields. Coverage: 1665 to present. How to export to RefWorks

For other specialized sources, see the list of databases by subject.
Find Books

Library Catalog
Use the catalog to find books, videos, recordings, and goverment documents we have at the library.

MelCat
A statewide catalog of many of Michigan's libraries. It allows you to request books at another library be sent to Kresge Library for you.

Required readings
Emily St John Mandel, Station Eleven (3rd floor, PR 9199.4 .S727 S73 2015) Joshua Davis, Spare Parts
Library Contact
Picture: Emily Spunaugle

Emily Spunaugle
Assistant Professor, Humanities Librarian
spunaugle@oakland.edu
248.370.2498

 

 
Research Assistance

Ask a Librarian
Ask a research question by phone, chat, email, or in person at the research help desk.

Research Consultation
Sign up online for an individual session with a librarian to get help with your research.


Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News