OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO HC 201 - Leonardo da Vinci, Artist & Scientist

Recommended resources
Due to the cross-cutting nature of these projects, your best place to start would most likely be the Library's OneSearch (above).  If you'd like to focus in on a particular subject area, try the recommend databases by subject, or the resources below:
 History of Science resources

History of Art & Art History resources

Recommended journal:
Leonardo (1968-2009) (2001-present)
(from the journal) "Leonardo was founded in 1968 with the goal of becoming an international channel of communication for artists who use science and developing technologies in their work. Today, Leonardois the leading international journal for readers interested in the application of contemporary science and technology to the arts and music."
The journal includes many articles of relevance to your Leonardo projects.

Recommended databases:
Academic OneFile
JSTOR
Project MUSE
Art Full-Text

Obtaining books from other libraries:
WorldCat

Evaluating websites:
Try and focus on .edu, .gov, or (some) .org sites.  Museum/university/library sites are your best bet!
The CRAAP test worksheet (from Juniata University Libraries) can help you evaluate any site you've found.

Find Images
  • Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff ARTstor
    ARTstor is a nonprofit digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences with a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes. 
  • Google Art Project
  • Museum Collections (National Gallery of Art, etc.)





Research Assistance

Ask a Librarian
Ask a research question by phone, chat, email, or in person at the research help desk.

Research Consultation
Sign up online for an individual session with a librarian to get help with your research.

Library Contact
Picture: Katie Greer

Katie Greer
Assistant Professor
greer@oakland.edu
248.370.2480


Anatomy Resources
Acland's Video Atlas - Dissection videos of the human body.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff AccessPhysiotherapy
Collection of full-text books, multi-media and study aids from McGraw-Hill for physical therapists and other health care providers. Includes "Anatomy and Physiology Revealed."
Anatomy & Physiology Revealed
- An interactive cadaver dissection experience. This unique multimedia study aid is designed to help you explore human anatomy using cadaver specimens and master physiology concepts through animation. Digital dissections allow unlimited drill and practice - anytime, anywhere. Detailed information and audio pronunciations build anatomical knowledge, and comprehensive quizzing reinforces learning.

Anatomy.TV - Interactive, 3-D anatomy resource. Rotate, add or remove layers to learn more about anatomical structures. Use the case studies and the test function to enhance your learning.

IMAIOS eAnatomy - Anatomical database providing more than 3,000 images of the human body. It provides cross-sectional, gross, and radiological anatomy derived from various types of medical imaging, including magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) and computed tomography (CT) scans.

InteractElsevier - Netter's 3D Interactive Anatomy uses advanced gaming technology to allow you to become immersed in realistic virtual dissection. First time users will have to download and install the 3D viewer.

NetterReference
- Collection of key anatomy texts including the famous "Netter Green Books," Atlas of Human Anatomy, and Netter's Concise Radiologic Anatomy.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Winking Skull Pro
Images from the Gilroy, Thieme Atlas of Anatomy in addition to clinical MRI and CT radiographs. Test your knowledge of anatomy by removing the labels and filling them in yourself. Register for an account while on campus for access to the full site and to track your progress.
Free internet resources on anatomy

AnatQuest - Images from the National Library of Medicine's Visible Human Project.

Digital Anatomist Information System - From the University of Washington, this site provides access to a collection of free interactive anatomy atlases.

Embryo Images Normal and Abnormal Mammalian Development  - Free online tutorial that uses scanning electron micrographs (mouse and human) to teach mammalian embryology.

eSkeletons - Free site from the University of Texas at Austin, this interactive database provides images of bones from human and non-human primates.

Glossary of Eponyms - Basic Human Anatomy by O'Rahilly, Muller, Carpenter & Swenson

Human Anatomy - Dissection laboratory manual from the SUNY Downstate Medical Center. Includes an extensive online quiz.



Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News