OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO HC 2020 Literary Monsters

Library Help during COVID
For up-to-date information on how Kresge Library is keeping you safe, visit our COVID-specific webpage and learn how to request:
  • virtual research help;
  • .pdf copies of chapters from print books from Kresge Library, sent to you for free;
  • contactless pickup of books and other resources.
Library Contact
Picture: Emily Spunaugle

Emily Spunaugle
Assistant Professor, Humanities Librarian
spunaugle@oakland.edu
248.370.2498

Sociohistorical Contexts

Need to dig up information about gender and marriage in 17th-century England? Find out more about the conditions of city life and industrialization in the 19th? 

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Cambridge Companions
Offers introductions to major writers, artists, philosophers, topics and periods.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Cambridge Histories Online
More than 260 volumes from the esteemed Cambridge Histories series covering 14 subject areas including general and regional history, literary studies, philosophy and religious studies.

Scholarly Conversation

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff MLA International Bibliography
A subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. It is produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), an organization dedicated to the study and teaching of language and literature. The electronic version of the Bibliography dates back to 1925 and contains over 2 million citations from more than 4,400 periodicals (including peer-reviewed e-journals) and 1,000 book publishers.

Image shows search interface for Modern Language Association Database. To find scholarly articles about films or stories with multiple adaptations, use the SK Primary Subject Work option to find the correct version of the story or film.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff JSTOR
Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately one year ago. Disciplines include botany, business, ecology, general science, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, and statistics. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. Especially good for historic or classic articles in most fields. Coverage: 1665 to present. How to export to RefWorks

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Film and Television Literature Index with Full Text
The definitive online tool for film and television research. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. The database provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for 350 publications (and selected coverage of nearly 300), as well as full text for more than 100 journals. How to export to RefWorks

You can also mine scholarly editions of novels, such as Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, for more clues to the reception of the work at a particular time. An search for "Shelley, Mary" Frankenstein reveals a listing of her works, including multiple critical editions by publishers such as Harvard, and critics like Harold Bloom.
Image of main search box for Library One Search with the search string
 
You can also search for a theme across multiple novels/films. Click on any of the following to see the list of books Kresge owns under that particular theme:

Monsters in literature
Monsters in motion pictures
Monsters in mass media

Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News