OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO HC 204 -- Fable and Fiction

Building up the Knowledge Base
Before diving into ultra-specific journal articles, use some of the resources and search strategies below to build up your background knowledge on your topic. A solid knowledge base can make your paper or project cohesive and more interesting to read than otherwise!

Opposing Viewpoints in Context
The premier full-text resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from Terrorism to Endangered Species, Stem Cell Research to Gun Control. Drawing on acclaimed series published by Greenhaven Press and other Gale imprints; brings together all the information that’s needed to fully understand an issue: pro and con viewpoint articles, reference articles that provide context, full-text magazines, academic journals, and newspapers, primary source documents, government and organizational statistics, multimedia, including images and podcasts, links to hand-selected web sites, and more! How to export to RefWorks

You can use Library OneSearch to browse for encyclopedias on a given topic. Try searches like < encyclopedia women > or < encyclopedia gay > to locate topic-specific reference materials. Examples:
Searching for Books
Locate books using Library OneSearch. Search strategies you might try--feel free to mix and match:
  • "popular culture"
  • stereotypes
  • racism
  • media
  • representations
  • ("gender norms" OR "gender roles")
....and, add your specific population: ("african americans" OR black) , "asian americans", "transgender persons", (lgbt OR "gays and lesbians" OR homosexuals), etc.

Remember that by browsing the subject terms by which a books is classified, we can be directed to other relevant books that didn't surface in our initial search.
Newspapers, Mags, and More
The above resources contain scholarly and popular sources. For more popular sources, see also:

New York Times Historical
Offers full-text, full-image articles of The New York Times, going back to 1851. The database can be used to search national and international news, editorials, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, plus historical photos and advertisements. The documents are downloadable in PDF format. How to export to RefWorks
Detroit Free Press 1923-1999
 Historical coverage of the Detroit Free Press.
Infotrac Newsstand
Full-text coverage of numerous newspapers. How to export to RefWorks
Berg Fashion Library
The Berg Fashion Library includes the Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion, eBooks, reference works, images, and more.
Women's Magazine Archive
An archival research resource comprising the full backfiles of leading women’s interest consumer magazines. Titles are scanned from cover to cover in high-resolution color and feature detailed article-level indexing. Coverage ranges from the late-19th century through to 2005 and these key primary sources permit the examination of the events, trends, and attitudes of this period.
Women's Wear Daily Archive
Comprehensive archive of Women’s Wear Daily, currently available from 1980 to the last 12 months, reproduced in high-resolution images. Archive will eventually extend as far back as 1910. Every page, article, advertisement and cover has been included, with searchable text and indexing.
 
Library Contact
Picture: Emily Spunaugle

Emily Spunaugle
Assistant Professor, Humanities Librarian
spunaugle@oakland.edu
248.370.2498

 

 
Journal Articles
GenderWatch
Database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas - including health and wellness. With its archival material, dating back to 1970 in some cases, GenderWatch is a repository of important historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgendered community and the changes in gender roles over the years.

InfoTrac: Gender Studies Collection

Communication & Mass Media Complete
This resource "offers cover-to-cover (“core”) indexing and abstracts for more than 550 journals, and selected (“priority”) coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of 737 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for over 440 journals."

Academic OneFile
A huge and highly heterogeneous multidisciplinary mix of scholarly, journalistic, practitioner and popular sources, with much direct full-text included. Use the tabs to identify scholarly, newspaper or other sources as necessary. Thanks to MeL / How to export to RefWorks Coverage: 1980-present

Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News