Amanda Nichols Hess
Associate Professor
nichols@oakland.edu
248.370.2487
Contact me via email to schedule an appointment
Library OneSearch
Use the catalog to find books, videos, recordings, and goverment documents we have at the library.
MelCat
A statewide catalog of many of Michigan's libraries. It allows you to request books at another library be sent to Kresge Library for you.
- Request books be pulled for pickup - shipping and contactless pick-up available
- Request PDF copies of print articles and book chapters
- Electronic course reserves, available for some classes
- Virtual research help
Interlibrary Loan
You may request materials we don't have and we'll borrow them from another library for you.
Refworks allows you to create a personal database of references and automatically generate formatted bibliographies for your projects.
Writing Resources for Students
Find in-depth information about the mechanics of writing, MLA/APA citations, avoiding plagiarism, and more.
Writing Center
The consultants can help you with every stage of the writing process.
Diversity, Inc - top 50 companies of the last year
Management and HRD-related professional organizations:
Management and HRD-related professional organizations:
- Association for Talent Development
- Academy of Management
- International Society for Performance Improvement
- Society for Organizational Learning
- American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU) (information about the Michigan chapter)
- Anti-Defamation League
- Gay & Lesbian Alliance against Defamation (GLAAD)
- Human Rights Campaign
- Innocence Project
- League of United Latin American Citizens
- National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP)
- National Congress of American Indians
- National Disability Rights Network
- National Organization for Women
- Southern Poverty Law Center (SPLC)
- UNIDOS
- Urban League - national and Detroit
- Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development (ASCD)
- Association for Education Communications and Technology (AECT)
- International Society for Technology in Education (ISTE)
- Michigan Department of Education
- Michigan School Data
- US Department of Education
- National Center for Education Statistics
Company Reports usually contain a business description, a history of the companies, as well as some discussion of company financials. Our key database for company reports is:
Latest Developments - News and articles
You can learn a lot about a company or university by reading current newspaper and business articles about it. For instance, you can search the databases below using a company name and words such as diversity, discrimination, multiculturalism, ethnic groups, African Americans, or women.
- MarketLine - company and industry reports, market research information
Latest Developments - News and articles
You can learn a lot about a company or university by reading current newspaper and business articles about it. For instance, you can search the databases below using a company name and words such as diversity, discrimination, multiculturalism, ethnic groups, African Americans, or women.
ProQuest One Business Provides access to articles in scholarly, peer-reviewed business journals, trade journals and business news publications. Includes the full-text of the Wall Street Journal, the Financial Times and the Economist.
JSTOR Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately one year ago. Disciplines include botany, business, ecology, general science, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, and statistics. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. Especially good for historic or classic articles in most fields. Coverage: 1665 to present. How to export to RefWorks
PsycINFO Need articles in psychology or counseling? Use PsycINFO! It's a great resource and is published by the American Psychological Association. How to export to RefWorks
ERIC Includes education and related topics - journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs. How to export to RefWorks
AVON: Academic Video Online A multidisciplinary collection of videos that touches on the curriculum needs of virtually every department. Look for specialized collections (Theatre in Video, Opera in Video) under Advanced Search.
Alexander Street Video Search across our streaming video collections from Alexander Street Press, including VAST, Nursing Education in Video, and World Newsreels Online.
Business-centric data:
- MarketLine
Includes company and industry reports, country profiles, as well as market data and country statistics.
American FactFinder
No longer available.-
DemographicsNow
Provides access to demographic data. Drill down to the city or neighborhood level to identify markets and audiences in your community. Ideal for supporting small business and local economic development activities. Thanks to MeL. - iPoll
iPoll is a comprehensive database of 500,000 questions and answers asked in the US since 1935. Also included is the Roper Center public opinion data which is the largest archives of public opinion information. Coverage: Data sets. - Statistical Abstract of the United States (Proquest)
The Statistical Abstract of the United States Online is the standard summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States – including vital and health statistics. It is also designed to serve as a guide to other statistical publications and sources, both in print and on the Web.