OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO HRD 4950 - Internship in HRD

Library Contact
Picture: Amanda Nichols Hess

Amanda Nichols Hess
Associate Professor
nichols@oakland.edu
248.370.2487

Options to connect: Meetings available via phone or virtually at this time.
Instructional Resources
These library micro-courses may also be helpful:
Chat with Dr. Hess
When Dr. Hess is online, feel free to ask a question via chat.
 
General Tools & Services
Find Books

Library OneSearch
Use the catalog to find books, videos, recordings, and goverment documents we have at the library.

MelCat
A statewide catalog of many of Michigan's libraries. It allows you to request books at another library be sent to Kresge Library for you.

Remote Library Services
Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan
You may request materials we don't have and we'll borrow them from another library for you.

RefWorks

Refworks

Refworks allows you to create a personal database of references and automatically generate formatted bibliographies for your projects.

Writing Help

Writing Resources for Students
Find in-depth information about the mechanics of writing, MLA/APA citations, avoiding plagiarism, and more.

Writing Center
The consultants can help you with every stage of the writing process.

Reference Resources
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Chronicle of Higher Education

Here you'll find full-text of the Chronicle, a news source of higher education.


Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Higher Education: Handbook of Theory and Research
This annual ebook provides an overview of the latest research in the field of higher education.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Learning in Adulthood: A Comprehensive Guide
This work considers who the adult learner is, how the social context shapes the learning that adults are engaged in, why adults are involved in learning activities, how adults learn, and how aging affects learning ability.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Penguin Dictionary of Psychology
Accessible from Credo Reference, 2009 edition.
Streaming Video
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff AVON: Academic Video Online
A multidisciplinary collection of videos that touches on the curriculum needs of virtually every department. Look for specialized collections (Theatre in Video, Opera in Video) under Advanced Search.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Alexander Street Video
Search across our streaming video collections from Alexander Street Press, including VAST, Nursing Education in Video, and World Newsreels Online.
Sources for Data
Unrestricted Resource American FactFinder

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Thanks to Mel DemographicsNow
Provides access to demographic data. Drill down to the city or neighborhood level to identify markets and audiences in your community. Ideal for supporting small business and local economic development activities. Thanks to MeL.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff iPoll
iPoll is a comprehensive database of 500,000 questions and answers asked in the US since 1935. Also included is the Roper Center public opinion data which is the largest archives of public opinion information. Coverage: Data sets.

Unrestricted Resource ICPSR
Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) is the world's largest collection of digital social science data. These data can be used for secondary research, instructional activities, and to write articles, papers or theses.
Finding Peer-Reviewed & Professional Articles
Where to Find Articles
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff ABI/Inform Complete
This database includes about 80% full-text articles from the business press, trade publications, academic journals, and newspapers (including full text of the Wall Street Journal). It is a great starting point for articles on broad business topics. How to export to RefWorks

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff ERIC
Includes education and related topics - journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs.  How to export to RefWorks

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff JSTOR
Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately one year ago. Disciplines include botany, business, ecology, general science, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, and statistics. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. Especially good for historic or classic articles in most fields. Coverage: 1665 to present. How to export to RefWorks

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff PsycINFO
Need articles in psychology or counseling? Use PsycINFO! It's a great resource and is published by the American Psychological Association. How to export to RefWorks

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Sociological Abstracts
This database abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Coverage: 1960 to present. How to export to RefWorks
Google Scholar

Google Scholar
 
Finding Specific Articles & Journals
If you're looking for a specific article or journal, your best bet is to use Library OneSearch to determine if the University Libraries can provide access.

Let's use this article as an example: 

Solomonson, W. (2015). What can we learn from I-O? Performance Improvement Quarterly, 28(2), 3–6.

You can search for the article using using the its title in Library OneSearch -- "What can we learn from I-O" in quotation marks (as shown) -- not the title of the journal (Performance Improvement Quarterly). The results of this search indicate that the Libraries do have access to this article online.

If you wanted to find additional articles from Performance Improvement Quarterly, you use Library OneSearch's Journal Search to look for that specific publication. A search for Performance Improvement Quarterly indicates the Libraries have this journal online.

Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News