OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO HRD 506 - Theoretical Foundations of Training and Development

Library Contact
Picture: Amanda Nichols Hess

Amanda Nichols Hess
Assistant Professor
nichols@oakland.edu
248.370.2487

I am out of the office working on research during the summer term.

If you would like to get research help, please contact me at nichols@oakland.edu. I am happy to provide assistance over email or set up a virtual meeting via WebEx.
Find Information
Find Articles
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff ABI/Inform Complete
This database includes about 80% full-text articles from the business press, trade publications, academic journals, and newspapers (including full text of the Wall Street Journal). It is a great starting point for articles on broad business topics. How to export to RefWorks

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Business Source Elite
Broad scope - includes academic journals, trade publications, magazines, books, market research reports, and product reviews. How to export to RefWorks

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff ERIC
This is the BEST PLACE to look when finding articles about education! ERIC contains over 1,100,000 items from 1966 through the present. How to export to RefWorks

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff PsycINFO
Need articles in psychology or counseling? Use PsycINFO! It's a great resource and is published by the American Psychological Association. How to export to RefWorks

FIND ARTICLES ABOUT COMPANIES:
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Thanks to Mel Business Insights: Global
Access to company and industry profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, and periodicals. Thanks to MeL
 
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff LexisNexis Academic Universe
NEWS: full text access to newspapers, magazines, trade journals, newsletters, news wires, and transcripts. News sources are never scholarly, but they can give you up-to-date information on current events. BUSINESS: access to financial and business information for specific companies. It's most accurate when you limit your search by sources, such as Hoover's Company Reports, S&P Corporate Descriptions, American Marketplace, and Tax Analysts Publications. LEGAL: you can search for legal information such as court decisions, legal codes, legal news, and law journals. The coverage includes information both at the state level and at the federal level. How to export to RefWorks
Reading a Scholarly Article
Are you struggling to make sense of a scholarly article?  Check out this Anatomy of a Scholarly Article web page, from North Carolina State University's Library.
Find Books

Library Catalog
Use the catalog to find books, videos, recordings, and goverment documents we have at the library.

MelCat
A statewide catalog of many of Michigan's libraries. It allows you to request books at another library be sent to Kresge Library for you.

Finding a Specific Article or Journal

To locate and retrieve articles or books cited in a bibliography or reference list, use Library OneSearch or the Library Catalog to determine if Kresge Library has access to the item. For example, to find the article:

Pearson, Elaine M; Podeschi, Ronald L.  (1999). Humanism and individualism: Maslow and his critics. Adult Education Quarterly 50 (1): 41-56.

You can search by:

  1. Title in Library OneSearch -- use the article title, Humanism and individualism: Maslow and his critics, not the title of the journal (Adult Education Quarterly).
  2. Journal Title in the Library Catalog - Adult Education Quarterly, NOT the title of the article.
The results of this search indicate that Kresge Library has access to this article online (available here).

Also, you can find specific journals by title here.
Tools & Services
Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan
You may request materials we don't have and we'll borrow them from another library for you.

RefWorks

Refworks allows you to create a personal database of references and automatically generate formatted bibliographies for your projects.

Writing Help

Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News