OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO HRD 6000 - Theoretical Foundations of Training and Development

Library Contact
Picture: Amanda Nichols Hess

Amanda Nichols Hess
Associate Professor
nichols@oakland.edu
248.370.2487

Contact me via email to schedule an appointment
Instruction Session Resources
Chat with Dr. Hess!
When Dr. Hess is online, feel free to ask a question via chat.
 
General Tools & Services
Find Books

Library OneSearch
Use the catalog to find books, videos, recordings, and goverment documents we have at the library.

MelCat
A statewide catalog of many of Michigan's libraries. It allows you to request books at another library be sent to Kresge Library for you.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar
 
Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan
You may request materials we don't have and we'll borrow them from another library for you.

RefWorks

Refworks

Refworks allows you to create a personal database of references and automatically generate formatted bibliographies for your projects.

Writing Help
Resources to Develop Your Topic
Resources for Finding Academic Articles
Find Articles
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff ABI/Inform Complete
Provides access to articles in scholarly, peer-reviewed business journals, trade journals and business news publications. Includes the full-text of the Wall Street Journal, the Financial Times and the Economist.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff ERIC
Includes education and related topics - journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs.  How to export to RefWorks

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff JSTOR
Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately one year ago. Disciplines include botany, business, ecology, general science, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, and statistics. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. Especially good for historic or classic articles in most fields. Coverage: 1665 to present. How to export to RefWorks

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff PsycINFO
Need articles in psychology or counseling? Use PsycINFO! It's a great resource and is published by the American Psychological Association. How to export to RefWorks

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Sociological Abstracts
This database abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Coverage: 1960 to present. How to export to RefWorks
Reading a Scholarly Article
Are you struggling to make sense of a scholarly article?  Check out this Anatomy of a Scholarly Article web page, from North Carolina State University's Library.
Finding a Specific Article or Journal

To locate and retrieve articles or books cited in a bibliography or reference list, use Library OneSearch or the Library Catalog to determine if Kresge Library has access to the item. For example, to find the article:

Pearson, Elaine M; Podeschi, Ronald L.  (1999). Humanism and individualism: Maslow and his critics. Adult Education Quarterly 50 (1): 41-56.

You can search by:

  1. Title in Library OneSearch -- use the article title, Humanism and individualism: Maslow and his critics, not the title of the journal (Adult Education Quarterly).
  2. Journal Title in the Library Catalog - Adult Education Quarterly, NOT the title of the article.
The results of this search indicate that Kresge Library has access to this article online (available here).

Also, you can find specific journals by title here.

Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News