OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO HS 201 - Hlth Pers/Occuptnl Envir

Where to start...
Research and read lots of information to develop your understanding of the topic.

START by exploring Library OneSearch (includes books, ebooks, academic journals, newspapers) 


*Try search terms like "gluten free" AND diet AND benefits and use facets on left to narrow by source type - choose ""

Relevent ebook collections:
Health & Biological Sciences

Relevent eJournals collections: 
Diet & Nutrition eJournals list


Also try suggested databases from OneSearch or BROWSE SUBJECT LIST of DATABASES.
Research Literature
Databases:
  • Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Alt-Health Watch Includes literature on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
  • Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff CINAHL Plus with Full-Text comprehensive and highly-authoritative database for research in nursing and health sciences.
  • Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Thanks to Mel Health Reference Center Academic provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals, includes multimedia.
  • Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Thanks to Mel Health and Wellness Resource Center Medical reference materials. Includes nearly 400 health/medical journals, hundreds of pamphlets, over 700 health-related videos and articles from 2,200 general interest publications.
  • Unrestricted Resource MedlinePlus  MedlinePlus is produced by the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health. It offers reliable, up-to-date health information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in plain language. An excellent source for patient information.
  • Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff PsycINFO Resource for psychology or counseling, published by the American Psychological Association.
  • Unrestricted Resource PubMed (MEDLINE)  The National Library of Medicine's free interface for MEDLINE, the premier database for biomedical journal citations.
  • Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Web of Science  Large collection of data, books, journals, proceedings and patents, across disciplines including multidisciplinary research.

General background and patient information:
  • Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff AccessMedicine Collection of 60 full-text medical and basic sciences books, also includes images, videos, diagnostic tools, patient education handouts, and drug information.
  • Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff UpToDate  A large, evidence-based online resource covering thousands of internal medicine, pediatric, and OB/GYN topics. Designed to answer point-of-care clinical questions.
  • Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Natural Medicines  A peer-reviewed, authoritative source for information on complementary and integrative therapies.  It is composed of 7 distinct databases:  Food, Herbs Supplements, Health & Wellness, Sports Medicine, Comparative Effectiveness, Manufacturers, Commercial Products, and Medical Conditions.
Government sites
 
If you need...source chart
How to know if it's peer-reviewed
Library Contact
Picture: Julia Rodriguez

Julia Rodriguez
Associate Professor / Nursing, Health Sciences & Scholarly Communications Librarian
juliar@oakland.edu

Schedule a research consultation (Fall & Winter only)
 
Library Session Follow-up survey
In effort to always improve my teaching sessions please fill up the quick short survey.  Answers to the survey are anonymous.

I know everyone is really busy so thank you for this is extra effort.

CLICK FOR SURVEY

Evaluating Information
Six Things to Consider about any information source.....

1. Authority - Who is the author/developer? What are her/his qualifications? What are the affiliations, if any?
2. Currency - Is the material current, updated regularly?
3. Coverage - Is the information complete? Are there sources given for additional information?
4. Accuracy - How do you know the information contained is correct? Are the facts cited, can they be checked?
5. Objectivity/Bias - Is the information presented objectively? What bias might the authors/creators have?
6. Appropriateness - Is this a good source for academic / scholarly level research?

Additional information: MedlinePlus Guide to Healthy Web Surfing
Types of Information Sources
  •     Books – Authors may be experts or not. Usually well researched but maybe not as up-to-date
  •     Academic journals (peer-reviewed) Written by scholars for a scholarly audience - cite their sources (facts)
  •     Popular magazines - Written by staff and freelance (non-experts) writers for a general (non-academic) audience
  •     Trade magazines - provide information about current trends and practices to practitioners in the field
  •     Newspapers - Written by staff and freelance (non-expert) writers, provide information about current events, especially from a local perspective
  •     Web resources– can be created by a variety of sources -commercial, non-profit, education, government, individuals
*Consider the different reasons to use each of these different types of information sources.
View Types of Information tutorial from Clark College

Citation Help
Kresge Library subcriptions include free access for the OU community to both RefWorks. This online personal database of references helps you generate a bibliography from your list of references automatically formatted in any common citation style.

Citation Style Guides:

Writing Resources
The Writing Center at Oakland University will assist developing their ideas into polished final products. The Center's services are in high demand so be sure to plan ahead when scheduling an appointment.


 

Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News