OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO HS 2250 - Research Methods in Health Science

Steps of a Literature Review
  • Problem formulation - which topic or field is being examined and what are the component issues?
  • Literature search - finding materials relevant to the subject explored
  • Data evaluation - determining which literature makes a significant contribution to the understanding of the topic
  • Analysis and interpretations - discussing the findings and conclusions of pertinent literature
Searching
Research and read lots of information to develop your understanding of the topic.

START by exploring Library OneSearch (includes books, ebooks, academic journals, newspapers)


*Try search terms like adhd, children, "drug treatment" and use facets on left to narrow by source type - choose " Limit to articles from scholarly publications, including peer-review"


For research databases try suggested databases from OneSearch or BROWSE SUBJECT LIST of DATABASES.

Possible choices:
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff ABI/Inform Complete  
Healthcare and hospital administration and bussiness literature
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Thanks to Mel Applied Science & Technology Source  Literature on trends in the scientific, business and technological fields.  
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff CINAHL Plus with Full-Text   Most comprehensive and highly-authoritative database for research in nursing and health sciences
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Cochrane Library - collection of databases that contain evidence for healthcare decision-making. Includes systematic review abstracts, technology assessments, economic evaluations and individual clinical trials.
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Thanks to Mel Environment Complete  comprehensive and highly-authoritative database for research in nursing and health sciences
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Natural Medicines - peer-reviewed, authoritative source for information on complementary and integrative therapies.  It is composed of 10 different databases:  Herbs, Supplements, & Functional Foods, Health & Wellness, Comparative Effectiveness, Charts & Tables, Medical Conditions, Sports Medicine, Genomics & Proteomics, Environment & Global Health, and Animal Health.
Unrestricted Resource PubMed (MEDLINE)  - The National Library of Medicine's free interface for MEDLINE the premier database for biomedical journal citations
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff PsycINFO  - literature in psychology and related disciplines such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work.
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Web of Science  Large collection of science and social science topicsvincluding environmental science, pubic health literature. 
Research Assistance

Ask a Librarian
Ask a research question by phone, chat, email, or in person at the research help desk.

Research Consultation
Sign up online for an individual session with a librarian to get help with your research.

Library Contact
Picture: Julia Rodriguez

Julia Rodriguez
Associate Professor / Nursing, Health Sciences & Scholarly Communications Librarian
juliar@oakland.edu

Schedule a research consultation (Fall & Winter only)

If none of the time slots work for you or if there are none available, email me directly and suggest a date & time and I will do my best to accommodate you.

RefWorks

Refworks

Refworks allows you to create a personal database of references and automatically generate formatted bibliographies for your projects.

Tutorials

Evaluating literature chart (blank Windows doc)

Database tutorials:

CINAHL tutorials
PUBMED tutorials

Analyzing Sources & Literature Review tutorials:
Essential Elements of a Literature Review guide (UC Santa Cuz)
Conducting Literature Reviews - detailed guide (USC)
Critically Analyzing Information Sources (Cornell Libraries)

Citation Help
Citation Linkers

To get the full-text of an article you found on the web or elsewhere paste the citation information into Google Scholar and follow the Get-it buttons.


Google Scholar Article Search
 

Or use the library's citation linker tool.

If we don't have your article electronically or in print try borrowing through InterLibrary Loan.


Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News