OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO HS 450 - Law Values and Health Care

Searching
Research and read lots of information to develop your understanding of the topic.

START by exploring Library OneSearch (includes books, ebooks, academic journals, newspapers) 

*Try search terms like “genetically modified foods” AND health and use facets on left to narrow by source type - choose ""

Relevent ebook collections:
Law, Politics & Government
Health & Biological Sciences

BROWSE SUBJECT LIST of DATABASES
Possible database choices
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff ABI/Inform Complete  This database includes articles from the business press, trade publications, academic journals, and newspapers (including full text of the Wall Street Journal).
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff CINAHL Plus with Full-Text  -comprehensive and highly-authoritative database for research in nursing and health sciences
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff ERIC -resources in education including journal articles from research/scholarly and practitioner literature
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Thanks to Mel Health Reference Center Academic - provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals, includes multimedia
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Medline via Web of Science - MEDLINE is the premier database of the U.S. National Library of Medicine. It contains over 20 million records of journal articles in the life sciences, with particular emphasis on biomedicine. Coverage: 1950-present.
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff PsycINFO - literature in psychology and related disciplines such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work.
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Social Sciences Full Text  Includes full-text articles from over 300 journals, covering concepts, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences: 1983 - present. 
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Social Work Abstracts  Indexes more than 450 social work and human services journals. Coverage: 1965 to present. 
 
Government sites
Legal documents
  • LegalTrac - major law reviews, legal newspapers, bar association journals and international legal journals
  • LexisNexis Academic Universe - LEGAL - court decisions, legal codes, legal news, and law journals, both at the state level and federal level.
  • Google Scholar - Legal documents limit
If you need...source chart

CLICK IMAGE TO ENLARGE


Evaluating sources chart

Six Things to Consider about any information source.....

1. Authority - Who is the author/developer? What are her/his qualifications? What are the affiliations, if any?
2. Currency -
Is the material current, updated regularly?
3. Coverage -
Is the information complete? Are there sources given for additional information?
4. Accuracy -
How do you know the information contained is correct? Are the facts cited, can they be checked?
5. Objectivity/Bias -
Is the information presented objectively? What bias might the authors/creators have?
6. Appropriateness -
Is this a good source for academic / scholarly level research?



CLICK IMAGE TO ENLARGE


Library Contact
Picture: Julia Rodriguez

Julia Rodriguez
Associate Professor / Nursing, Health Sciences & Scholarly Communications Librarian
juliar@oakland.edu

Schedule a research consultation (Fall & Winter only)
 
Survey

CLICK HERE FOR SURVEY

Please take a few mintues and provide feedback about today's library session.

Fact news
News checker
  • Seek Truth and Report It - Ethical journalism should be accurate and fair. Journalists should be honest and courageous in gathering, reporting and interpreting information.
  • Minimize Harm -Ethical journalism treats sources, subjects, colleagues and members of the public as human beings deserving of respect.
  • Act Independently - The highest and primary obligation of ethical journalism is to serve the public.
  • Be Accountable and Transparent - Ethical journalism means taking responsibility for one’s work and explaining one’s decisions to the public.
Checker tools and tips
  • Factcheck.org has a how to spot fake or bogus news website.
  • FAIR - Fairness and Accuracy in Reporting tips to spot fake news.
  • Snopes - top Internet reference source for urban legends, folklore, myths, rumors, and misinformation.
  • PolitiFACT-  a fact-checking website that rates the accuracy of claims by elected officials and others who speak up in American politics.
Peer-review - vs - scholarly tutorial
Tutorials
Medical Associations
Virtual Mentor: American Medical Association Journal of Ethics - full text articles and pod casts about latest medical ethcis topics

American Society of Law, Medicine & Ethics
Citation Help
Kresge Library subcriptions include free access for the OU community to both RefWorks. This online personal database of references helps you generate a bibliography from your list of references automatically formatted in any common citation style.

Citation Style Guides:

Writing Resources
The Writing Center at Oakland University will assist developing their ideas into polished final products. The Center's services are in high demand so be sure to plan ahead when scheduling an appointment.


 

Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News