START by exploring Library OneSearch (includes books, ebooks, academic journals, newspapers)
*Try search terms like “genetically modified foods” AND health and use facets on left to narrow by source type - choose "Limit to articles from scholarly publications, including peer-review"
Relevent ebook collections:
Law, Politics & Government
Health & Biological Sciences
BROWSE SUBJECT LIST of DATABASES
AccessMedicine Collection of full-text medical books, also includes case studies, images, videos, diagnostic tools, patient education handouts, and drug information.
DynaMed Plus Clinical reference tool written by physicians who synthesize the evidence and provide objective analysis to help health care providers in their daily practice. Designed to provide quick answers to clinical questions.
MedlinePlus MedlinePlus is produced by the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health. It offers reliable, up-to-date health information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in plain language. An excellent source for patient information.
Data.gov - U.S. government open data
Statistical Abstract of the United States (Proquest) Standard summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States – including vital and health statistics.
A large, evidence-based online resource covering thousands of internal medicine, pediatric, OB/GYN, and surgical topics. Designed to answer point-of-care clinical questions.
*Statistics Resources Guide
CINAHL Complete -comprehensive and highly-authoritative database for research in nursing and health sciences
ERIC -resources in education including journal articles from research/scholarly and practitioner literature
Medline via Web of Science - MEDLINE is the premier database of the U.S. National Library of Medicine. It contains over 20 million records of journal articles in the life sciences, with particular emphasis on biomedicine. Coverage: 1950-present.
PsycINFO - literature in psychology and related disciplines such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work.
Includes full-text articles from over 300 journals, covering concepts, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences: 1983 - present.
Social Work Abstracts Indexes more than 450 social work and human services journals. Coverage: 1965 to present.
Web of Science Web of Science provides access to Science Citation Index (SCI), Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) and Arts and Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI).
- AMA journal of ethics - mission is to help medical students and physicians make sound ethical decisions in service to patients and society.
- American journal of bioethics - provides an authoritative, annotated conversation that has been used by judges, Senators, journalists, scholars, schoolteachers, and millions of others as the key source on thousands of topics in the health sciences.
- BMC Medical Ethics - original peer-reviewed research articles in relation to the ethical aspects of biomedical research and clinical practice, including professional choices and conduct, medical technologies, healthcare systems and health policies.
- Journal of Medical Ethics - leading international journal that reflects the whole field of medical ethics
*List of medical ethics electronic journals and ebooks
Associate Professor / Health Sciences & Scholarly Communications Librarian
If none of the time slots work for you or if there are none available, email me directly and suggest a date & time and I will do my best to accommodate you.
Please take a few mintues and provide feedback about today's library session.
- LegalTrac - major law reviews, legal newspapers, bar association journals and international legal journals
- LexisNexis Academic Universe - LEGAL - court decisions, legal codes, legal news, and law journals, both at the state level and federal level.
- Google Scholar - Legal documents limit
Citation Style Guides:
Six Things to Consider about any information source.....
1. Authority - Who is the author/developer? What are her/his qualifications? What are the affiliations, if any?
2. Currency - Is the material current, updated regularly?
3. Coverage - Is the information complete? Are there sources given for additional information?
4. Accuracy - How do you know the information contained is correct? Are the facts cited, can they be checked?
5. Objectivity/Bias - Is the information presented objectively? What bias might the authors/creators have?
6. Appropriateness - Is this a good source for academic / scholarly level research?
CLICK IMAGE TO ENLARGE
- Seek Truth and Report It - Ethical journalism should be accurate and fair. Journalists should be honest and courageous in gathering, reporting and interpreting information.
- Minimize Harm -Ethical journalism treats sources, subjects, colleagues and members of the public as human beings deserving of respect.
- Act Independently - The highest and primary obligation of ethical journalism is to serve the public.
- Be Accountable and Transparent - Ethical journalism means taking responsibility for one’s work and explaining one’s decisions to the public.
- Factcheck.org has a how to spot fake or bogus news website.
- FAIR - Fairness and Accuracy in Reporting tips to spot fake news.
- Snopes - top Internet reference source for urban legends, folklore, myths, rumors, and misinformation.
- PolitiFACT- a fact-checking website that rates the accuracy of claims by elected officials and others who speak up in American politics.