OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO HS 460 - Nutrient Metabolism

Where to start...
Research and read lots of information to develop your understanding of the topic.

START by exploring Library OneSearch (includes books, ebooks, academic journals, newspapers) 

*Try search terms like "gluten free" AND diet and use facets on left to narrow by source type - choose ""

 
Scientific Literature
Research Literature - first start with these databases:
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff CINAHL Plus with Full-Text  The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) is a comprehensive and highly-authoritative database for research in nursing and health sciences.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Web of Science Web of Science provides access to Science Citation Index (SCI), articles in the Sport Sciences and others.

Research Literature - then try these databases:
Unrestricted Resource PubMed (MEDLINE) The National Library of Medicine's free interface for MEDLINE.
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Medline via Web of Science   MEDLINE is the premier database for biomedical journal citations dates back to 1946 and includes more than 20 million citations in medicine, nursing, allied health and dentistry.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Scopus  Largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed research literature supporting research needs in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields and arts and humanities.

Retraction Watch - Blog traction retracted and unethical research.
Also can search CINAHL for RETRACTED: in title or PubMed Medline filter under Article Type.
Levels of review
Quality of Research Evidence Chart
Evaluating sources chart
Library Contact
Picture: Julia Rodriguez

Julia Rodriguez
Associate Professor / Nursing, Health Sciences & Scholarly Communications Librarian
juliar@oakland.edu

Schedule a research consultation (Fall & Winter only)
 
Survey

CLICK HERE FOR SURVEY

Please take a few mintues and provide feedback about today's library session.

Government sites
If you need...source chart
Fact news
Relevant books/ebooks
  1. Bijlefeld, M., & Zoumbaris, S. K. (2014). Encyclopedia of diet fads: Understanding science and society, 2nd edition: Understanding science and society (2nd ed.). Westport: Greenwood.
  2. Duyff, R. L., & American Dietetic Association. (2012). American dietetic association complete food and nutrition guide (4th ed.). Hoboken, NJ: John Wiley & Sons.
  3. Francis, A., & Thomson Gale (Firm). (2016). Can diets be harmful?. Farmington Hills, Mich: Greenhaven Press, a part of Gale, Cengage Learning.
  4. Hoffman, R., & Gerber, M. (2012;2013;). The mediterranean diet: Health and science (1st ed.). Ames, Iowa;Chichester, West Sussex, UK;: Wiley-Blackwell.
  5. Key, K., & Thomson Gale (Firm). (2013). The gale encyclopedia of diets: A guide to health and nutrition (2nd ed.). Detroit, Mich: Gale, Cengage Learning
  6. Mahan, L. K., & Escott-Stump, S. (2004). Krause's food, nutrition, & diet therapy (11th ed.). Philadelphia: Saunders.
  7. Martin, C. R., Preedy, V. R., & Watson, R. R. (2011). Handbook of behavior, food and nutrition (2011;1; ed.). New York: Springer. doi:10.1007/978-0-387-92271-3
  8. Robbins, J. (1987). Diet for a new america. Walpole, NH: Stillpoint.
  9. Zacharias, E. (2012). The mediterranean diet: A Clinician’s guide for patient care (1) (2012th ed.). New York, NY: Springer New York. doi:10.1007/978-1-4614-3326-2
News checker
Checker tools and tips
  • Factcheck.org has a how to spot fake or bogus news website.
  • FAIR - Fairness and Accuracy in Reporting tips to spot fake news.
  • Snopes - top Internet reference source for urban legends, folklore, myths, rumors, and misinformation.
  • PolitiFACT-  a fact-checking website that rates the accuracy of claims by elected officials and others who speak up in American politics.
  • Seek Truth and Report It - Ethical journalism should be accurate and fair. Journalists should be honest and courageous in gathering, reporting and interpreting information.
  • Minimize Harm -Ethical journalism treats sources, subjects, colleagues and members of the public as human beings deserving of respect.
  • Act Independently - The highest and primary obligation of ethical journalism is to serve the public.
  • Be Accountable and Transparent - Ethical journalism means taking responsibility for one’s work and explaining one’s decisions to the public.
Citation Tools
RefWorks is available through the Library subcriptions. You create a personal database of references, generate a bibliography from your list of references & automatically format in any common citation style.

Citation Style Guides:

Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News