- Kresge Library Catalog
You can use the library catalog to find books, scholarly & popular journals, government documents, dvds & videos, reference materials, sheet music, and more.
A statewide catalog of many of Michigan's libraries. It allows you to request books at another library be sent to Kresge Library for you.
A catalog of materials owned by libraries worldwide. How to export to RefWorks
- New York Times Historical
- Chicago Defender Historical
Covers several editions of the Chicago Defender newspaper from 1910-1975.
- Other historical papers on microfilm include the Detroit News (1890-present -- an index is available)
- Reveal Digital: Independent Voices
growing collection of magazines, journals, and newspapers of the alternative press, many for the 1960s
A digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences with a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images
- VAST: Academic Video Online
A multidisciplinary collection of videos that touches on the curriculum needs of virtually every department. Look for specialized collections (Theatre in Video, Opera in Video) under Advanced Search.
- Annals of America (in the library's reference collection on the 2nd floor, call number E 173 .A793) contains hundreds of primary source documents.
- You may also find primary sources by searching the Library Catalog. Often, important primary sources are gathered together and reprinted in books. The following words and phrases in the Subject Headings of a book record may indicate that the item contains primary source material:
|--Diaries||--Songs and music|
|--Notebooks, sketchbooks, etc.||--Facsimiles|
|--Records and correspondence||--Manuscripts|
You can use any of these terms in a Boolean Keyword search of your topic. For example: eisenhower and correspondence.
- Consult Kresge Library's Government documents for historians guide for assistance in finding and using government documents.
- American Presidency Project (UCSB) - Searchable database of presidential documents.
- John F. Kennedy Presidential Library Digital Collections
- LBJ Presidential Library (a few digitized collections)
- Foreign Relations of the United States - A series (also available in print in the library in the documents collection - S 1.1:) that provides copies of important documents in foreign relations history. The online version is not yet complete. For the 1950s, consult the Wisconsin Digital Collections.
- Avalon Project - Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy (Yale University)
- National Security Archive (declassified documents)
- International History Declassified (Wilson Center Digital Archive)
- Legislative Insight : hearings, committee reports and other documents related to enacted laws.
- Internet Archive: a non-profit digital library offering free universal access to books, government documents, archived web pages...
- Hathi Trust: Books, journals and more. Works in the public domain are available full text.
- National Archives: some digitized collections, like the Pentagon Papers
- American Memory: the online collections of the Library of Congress, organized by theme and by period.
- Digital Public Library of America: a portal for a large number of primary sources held across the U.S.
The history research guide and 20th century U.S. history guide contain references to some of the largest digital archives online.
For help in working with primary sources, consult History Matters and American Historical Association Archives Wiki - A searchable wiki of information on print and digital archives worldwide.
An effective research strategy is to consult the reference lists and bibliographies of books and journal articles that you find, to help you identify other valuable materials on your topic.Then, determine whether KL owns that book or journal article.
e.g.: Suppose you find the following citation in the bibliography of a book:
B. J.Bernstein, "Truman and the A-bomb: Targeting Noncombatants, Using the Bomb, and his Defending the 'Decision,'" Journal of Military History 62 no. 3 (1998): 547-570.
Check to see if KL owns this journal (Journal of Military History) by searching Kresge Library’s Library Catalog. If not, you can order a copy through Interlibrary Loan.
Video tutorial on how to find journals owned by the library
Some key aspects of American history since the 1960s are illustrated in the archives.
Explore examples of topics and primary sources to research them.
The Billie Farnum Papers are also a good source for research on the 1960s in the U.S. Billie Farnum served in the House of Representatives as a Democrat for the 19th Congressional District (around OU) in 1965-1967. His papers document the legislative and political history of the Johnson era, both in Michigan and the U.S.
Humanities Librarian for History and Modern Languages