LIBRARY GUIDE TO HST 3010 - Historical Thinking and Writing (Milne)

At KL: Library OneSearch

Beyond KL: MelCat
A statewide catalog of many of Michigan's libraries. It allows you to request books at another library be sent to Kresge Library for you.

Useful databases for scholarly articles on the colonial period in America:

• JSTOR   and Project MUSE

• The William and Mary Quarterly. Refereed scholarship in history and related disciplines from initial Old World-New World contacts to the early 19th century and beyond.
• Eighteenth Century Studies
• The Journal of American History
• The American Historical Review
• The History Compass
• Ethnohistory
• The New England Quarterly -- print since 1928 (4th floor F1.N62) and online
• Environmental History
• Early American Studies
• Church History

To find articles that KL does not have:

• America: History & Life
  A comprehensive history database to search for journal articles.
  Use the link to determine if the article is available online in another database or in print in the library. If it isn't, you can request it electronically from another library.

Selected primary sources at KL:  United States History Colonial period, ca. 1600-1775 Sources

For more, search Library OneSearch, using the search term of your choice and adding "sources". Example: "New England" AND sources

Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans 1639-1800
This full-text historical collection contains books, pamphlets, broadsides, newspapers, government documents and ephemera printed in America over three centuries. Take a look at our guide to EAI for an introduction on searching or browsing the imprints. How to export to RefWorks

Eighteenth Century Collections Online
180,000 titles (200,000 volumes) including books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides and more. Works published in the UK during the 18th century plus thousands from elsewhere. Based on the English Short Title Catalogue.

Salem Witch Trial Documents
The Avalon Project
Colonial Charters, Grants and Related Documents (Avalon Project)
The Plymouth Colony Archive Project
Colonial Connecticut Records, 1636-1776
Massachusetts online archive
George Whitefield's Sermons
Library of Congress Archives
Papers of Benjamin Franklin
Colonial Era Maps
Library of Congress Map Collection
David Rumsey Map Collection
Hargrett Map Collection
Maps of the Middle Atlantic Region to 1850 (New York Public Library)
Colonial Currency
Bethlehem Digital History Project
Images of the Atlantic slave trade and slave life in the Americas
Slave Voyages
The Transatlantic Slave Trade (Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture)
France in America (Library of Congress and BNF)
Canadiana (search across Canadian archives)
archivescanada.ca (search and browse archives in Canada)
British History Online (large online collections on British history, including American colonies)
 

Finding primary sources
A series of online modules to learn how to search for, and select primary sources online effectively.

Interlibrary Loan
You may request materials we don't have and we'll borrow them from another library for you.

Writing Resources for Students
Find in-depth information about the mechanics of writing, MLA/APA citations, avoiding plagiarism, and more.

Writing Center
The consultants can help you with every stage of the writing process.

Ask a Librarian
Ask a research question by phone, chat, email, or in person at the research help desk.

Research Consultation
Sign up online for an individual session with a librarian to get help with your research.