- Library OneSearch
Search Kresge Library's physical and digital holdings
A statewide catalog of many of Michigan's libraries. It allows you to request books at another library be sent to Kresge Library for you.
A catalog of materials owned by libraries worldwide. How to export to RefWorks
An effective research strategy is to consult the reference lists and bibliographies of books and journal articles that you find, to help you identify other valuable materials on your topic.Then, determine whether KL owns that book or journal article.
e.g.: Suppose you find the following citation in the bibliography of a book:
B. J.Bernstein, "Truman and the A-bomb: Targeting Noncombatants, Using the Bomb, and his Defending the 'Decision,'" Journal of Military History 62 no. 3 (1998): 547-570.
- New York Times Historical
- Detroit Free Press 1923-1999
Historical coverage of the Detroit Free Press.
- Chicago Defender (Proquest Historical Newspapers)
Covers several editions of the Chicago Defender newspaper from 1909-1975.
- The Detroit News on microfilm (1890-present -- an index is available)
- The Oakland Press on microfilm
- Reveal Digital: Independent Voices
Collection of magazines, journals, and newspapers of the alternative press, many for the 1960s
- Women's Magazine Archive
An archival research resource comprising the full backfiles of leading women’s interest consumer magazines. Titles are scanned from cover to cover in high-resolution color and feature detailed article-level indexing. Coverage ranges from the late-19th century through to 2005 and these key primary sources permit the examination of the events, trends, and attitudes of this period.
- Chronicling America (Libraryof Congress digitized newspapers)
- Annals of America (in the library's reference collection on the 2nd floor, call number E 173 .A793) contains hundreds of primary source documents.
- Use Library OneSearch to find some types of primary sources.
The following words and phrases in the Subject Headings of a book record may indicate that the item contains primary source materials:
Songs and music
Notebooks, sketchbooks, etc.
Records and correspondence
You can use any of these terms and add a keyword to search of your topic. For example: eisenhower correspondence. More information on how to search for such sources is available in this tutorial:
- Consult Kresge Library's Government documents for historians guide for assistance in finding and using government documents.
- American Presidency Project (UCSB) - Searchable database of presidential documents.
- John F. Kennedy Presidential Library Digital Collections
- LBJ Presidential Library (a few digitized collections)
- Foreign Relations of the United States - A series (also available in print in the library in the documents collection - S 1.1:) that provides copies of important documents in foreign relations history. The online version is not yet complete. The Wisconsin Digital Collections also contain some.
- Avalon Project - Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy (Yale University)
- National Security Archive (declassified documents)
- International History Declassified (Wilson Center Digital Archive)
- Legislative Insight : hearings, committee reports and other documents related to enacted laws.
History of civil rights
- History Vault: Civil Rights and the Black Freedom Struggle
A collection of digitized primary sources documenting the civil rights movement, from the early 20th century to the 1970s with an emphasis on the 1960s. NAACP Papers are included.
Archives on the web
- Internet Archive: a non-profit digital library offering free universal access to books, government documents, archived web pages...
- Hathi Trust: Books, journals and more. Works in the public domain are available full text.
- National Archives: some digitized collections, like the Pentagon Papers
- American Memory: the online collections of the Library of Congress, organized by theme and by period.
- Digital Public Library of America: a portal for a large number of primary sources held across the U.S.
A digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences with a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images
- AVON: Academic Video Online
A multidisciplinary collection of videos that touches on the curriculum needs of virtually every department. Look for specialized collections (Theatre in Video, Opera in Video) under Advanced Search.
Explore examples of topics and primary sources to research them.
The Billie Farnum Papers are also a good source for research on the 1960s in the U.S. Billie Farnum served in the House of Representatives as a Democrat for the 19th Congressional District (around OU) in 1965-1967. His papers document the legislative and political history of the Johnson era, both in Michigan and the U.S.
The Oakland Press archives: all the issues of the local newspaper and its photographic archive document the history of Oakland County and the metro Detroit area.
Humanities Librarian for History and Modern Languages
To make an appointment:
Book an appointment
or by appointment. Email me or schedule an appointment online: