OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO HST 3000 - Seminar in Historical Research (Estes)

Find Books
Unrestricted Resource Kresge Library Catalog
You can use the library catalog to find books, scholarly & popular journals, government documents, dvds & videos, reference materials, sheet music, and more.

MelCat
A statewide catalog of many of Michigan's libraries. It allows you to request books at another library be sent to Kresge Library for you.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff WorldCat
A catalog of materials owned by libraries worldwide. How to export to RefWorks
General history resources
Encyclopedia of the New American Nation: good bibliographical references (Ref. E 301 .E53 2006)

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan
You may request materials we don't have and we'll borrow them from another library for you.

Find scholarly articles
The main databases for scholarly articles on the early American republic:

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff America: History & Life
The definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Provides indexing for 1,700 journals. How to export to RefWorks. Coverage: 1964-present. To find articles that are not directly available in it, be sure to use the link to determine where to find it.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff JSTOR and Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Project MUSE
Project Muse provides full-text access to the content from over 400 scholarly journals in the humanities and the social sciences. How to export to RefWorks
Full text of numerous scholarly history journals.

Some important journals:
  • The Journal of the Early Republic. Covers the period 1776-1861.
  • The William and Mary Quarterly. Scholarship in history and related disciplines from initial Old World-New World contacts to the early nineteenth century and beyond. Articles, notes and documents, and reviews range from British North America and the United States to Europe, West Africa, the Caribbean, and the Spanish American borderlands.
  • The Journal of American History. One of the leading scholarly publications in the field of American history.
Primary sources
For more primary sources:
Strategies to find primary sources
To find primary sources on your topic:

1) consult the bibliography and notes of a good secondary source on on the subject
2) if you're studying a person or an organization, try to find if a library has their papers
3) Google your topic, using words like "papers" or "archives" as part of your search; or add "site:edu" at the end of your search
4) Search the Digital Public Library of America or ArchiveGrid

See also:   
How to cite
To learn how and when to use sources, go to the plagiarism tutorial
RefWorks

Refworks

Refworks allows you to create a personal database of references and automatically generate formatted bibliographies for your projects.

Research Assistance

Ask a Librarian
Ask a research question by phone, chat, email, or in person at the research help desk.

Research Consultation
Sign up online for an individual session with a librarian to get help with your research.

Library Contact
Picture: Dominique Daniel

Dominique Daniel
Humanities Librarian for History and Modern Languages
daniel@oakland.edu
248.370.2478



Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News