OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO HST 3000 - Seminar in Historical Research (Greenspan)

Find background information
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Cambridge Histories Online
Overviews and bibliographies in all aspects of history.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Cambridge Companions
Offers introductions to major writers, artists, philosophers, topics and periods.

A companion to racial and ethnic studies (Blackwell)
 
Find Books
  • Library OneSearch
    Search the library's collections  
  • MelCat
    A statewide catalog of many of Michigan's libraries. It allows you to request books at another library be sent to Kresge Library for you.
  • Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff WorldCat
    A catalog of materials owned by libraries worldwide. How to export to RefWorks
Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan
You may request materials we don't have and we'll borrow them from another library for you.

Find articles
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff America: History & Life and Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Historical Abstracts are the main databases to find articles in history.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff JSTOR and Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Project MUSE contain a lot of history periodicals.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Google Scholar can help with interdisciplinary research.

Find primary sources
American Memory
The online collections of the Library of Congress, organized by theme and by period.

Digital Public Library of America
A portal for a large number of primary sources held across the U.S.

Chronicling America
Historic American newspapers (1836-1922) at the Library of Congress.

Internet Archive
Free universal access to books, movies & music, as well as 150 billion archived web pages.

Hathi Trust
Millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.

See more suggestions in the other history guides.

Get help with:
Research Assistance

Ask a Librarian
Ask a research question by phone, chat, email, or in person at the research help desk.

Research Consultation
Sign up online for an individual session with a librarian to get help with your research.

RefWorks

Refworks

Refworks allows you to create a personal database of references and automatically generate formatted bibliographies for your projects.

Library Contact
Picture: Dominique Daniel

Dominique Daniel
Humanities Librarian for History and Modern Languages
daniel@oakland.edu
248.370.2478

Office hours by appointment
[March-April 2020: by phone or virtual meeting]


 Book an appointment

Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News