OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO HST 3000 - Seminar in Historical Research (Shesko)

Find background information
Use these resources to find books on your topics:

The Cambridge History of Latin America (online) and other books in the  Cambridge Histories series

Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture
(print, Ref.F 1406 .E53 2008)

Handbook of Latin American Studies
bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars.
 
Find Books
At KL
Library OneSearch or Kresge Library Catalog

MelCat
A statewide catalog of many of Michigan's libraries. It allows you to request books at another library be sent to Kresge Library for you.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff WorldCat
A catalog of materials owned by libraries worldwide. How to export to RefWorks
Find articles
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Historical Abstracts
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, the history of education, and more. Provides indexing of more than 1700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages since 1955. How to export to RefWorks

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff JSTOR  and Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Project MUSE
 Archives the full-text of articles from numerous history journals and journals in Latin American studies

Latin American Open Archives Portal: provides access to working documents, pre-prints, research papers, statistical documents, and other difficult-to-access materials in the social sciences produced in Latin America.

LANIC (Latin American Network Information Center): guide to Latin American resources online
 
Find primary sources
General sources

 World Digital Library, Latin America: images, texts and maps
Digital Archive of Latin American and Caribbean Ephemera 
Digital Library of the Caribbean
Afro-Latin Project 
Marxist Leader speeches
Latin American Public Opinion Project (Vanderbilt U)
Latin American Digital Initiatives (archival documents from Latin America, with an emphasis on collections documenting human rights, race, ethnicity, and social exclusion)


Latin American - US relations

American Presidency Project (UCSB) - Searchable database of presidential documents.
Presidential libraries like  the John F. Kennedy Presidential Library Digital Collections or the LBJ Presidential Library (a few digitized collections)
Foreign Relations of the United States - A series (also available in print in the library in the documents collection - S 1.1:) that provides copies of important documents in foreign relations history.
For the 1950s, consult the Wisconsin Digital Collections.
Avalon Project - Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy (Yale University)
National Security Archive (declassified documents)
International History Declassified (Wilson Center Digital Archive)
Declassified US documents, including President’s Daily Briefs (CIA)
Oral Histories of US Diplomats (searchable)


Images

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff ARTstor
Latin American Posters (Princeton U)
Latin America and the Caribbean (SMU Central University)
Advertisements (Duke U)
Latin American art: Images of Latin American art works (University of Essex)


Country / topic specific sources

Brazil-Argentina Nuclear Cooperation 
Brazilian Nuclear  History 
US State Department documents on Brazil (1960s-80s)
Compilation of links on Brazil

Cuba in Africa 
Cuban Foreign Relations 
Cuban Missile Crisis 

Shining Path photographs 
Jews in Argentina (1970s and 80s)
Vanished Gallery (disappeared in Argentina): 

Historical Images of Chile 
Historic Mexican and Mexican American Press Collection 


Newspapers

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff New York Times Historical
Offers full-text, full-image articles of The New York Times, going back to 1851. The database can be used to search national and international news, editorials, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, plus historical photos and advertisements. The documents are downloadable in PDF format. How to export to RefWorks


For more information:
  
Library Contact
Picture: Dominique Daniel

Dominique Daniel
Humanities Librarian for History and Modern Languages
daniel@oakland.edu
248.370.2478

On sabbatical fall 2017.
Contact the research help desk
Research Assistance

Ask a Librarian
Ask a research question by phone, chat, email, or in person at the research help desk.

Research Consultation
Sign up online for an individual session with a librarian to get help with your research.


Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News