- Request books be pulled for pickup - shipping and contactless pick-up available
- Request PDF copies of print articles and book chapters
- Electronic course reserves, available for some classes
- Virtual research help
You may request materials we don't have and we'll borrow them from another library for you.
The Cambridge History of Africa (online)
An 8-volume series that provides an overview of African history from the earliest times to 1975
New Encyclopedia of Africa (Ref. DT 2 .N48 2008)
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, the history of education, and more. Provides indexing of more than 1700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages since 1955. How to export to RefWorks
JSTOR and Project MUSE
Contain many journals in African studies.
Archive of African Journals (MSU African Studies Center)
Full text of 11 African journals
Major journals of African history
Primary Sources online:
- African Online Digital Library (manuscripts, printed documents, images, oral histories and interviews on various aspects of African history)
- Africa Focus: Sights and Sounds of a Continent (slides, photographs and sound recordings)
- African National Congress (archive of documents relating to South Africa's liberation movement)
- South African History Online digital archive
- Endangered Archives (includes African collections at the British Library)
- Foreign Relations of the United States (documents about US foreign policy and diplomacy, including with African countries)
- African Collections (Stanford University)
- African Activist Archive Project (records of activism in the United States to support the struggles of African peoples against colonialism, apartheid, and social injustice from the 1950s through the 1990s -MSU)
ARTstor is a nonprofit digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences with a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.
- African Studies Multimedia Archives (maps, images of art, wildlife, artifacts, and much more)
- The Humphrey Winterton Collection of East African Photographs, 1860-1960
- Images of Colonialism (late-19th and early-20th century trade cards and illustrated European newspapers that document how popular perceptions of Africa were propagated)
- African Politics Web Archive (websites of election campaigns in Africa)
Refworks allows you to create a personal database of references and automatically generate formatted bibliographies for your projects.
Humanities Librarian for History and Modern Languages
[by phone or virtual meeting]