LIBRARY GUIDE TO HST 3010 - Historical Thinking and Writing (Shesko)

- Finding secondary sources
How to find good books quickly and effectively with Library OneSearch
(6:56 video)

- Evaluating your results
How to evaluate the usefulness of a scholarly book for your research topic
(4:54 video)

 Library Tutorials HST 3100 transcript  

- Request books be pulled for pickup
Shipping and contactless pick-up available

- Request PDF copies of print articles and book chapters

- Electronic course reserves
Available for some classes

- Virtual research help

Use these resources to find other books on your topics:

The Cambridge History of Latin America (online)
This volume on colonial Latin America includes essays by respected historians, including bibliographic essays.

The Cambridge History of Native Peoples of the Americas - volume 2, Mesoamerica (online)
An authoritative overview of all the important native civilizations of the Mesoamerican area, beginning with archaeological discussions of paleoindian, archaic and preclassic societies and continuing to the present.

Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture
(print, Ref.F 1406 .E53 2008)

LANIC (Latin American Network Information Center)
Guide to Latin American history resources online to 2015, including the history of Mexico
 

At KL:

• Search Library OneSearch
• Browse books on Mesoamerica, the early history of Mexico, the Spanish conquest, or Cortes.
  Note: take into account the author's profile, publication date, and potential bias before using a book; you can refine the search by adding keywords.

MelCat
A statewide catalog of many of Michigan's libraries. It allows you to request books at another library be sent to Kresge Library for you.

WorldCat
A catalog of materials owned by libraries worldwide. How to export to RefWorks

Handbook of Latin American Studies
bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars.

Interlibrary Loan
You may request materials we don't have and we'll borrow them from another library for you.

Historical Abstracts
Search for journal articles on world history beyond Kresge Library

JSTOR  and  Project MUSE
 Archives the full-text of articles from numerous history journals and journals in Latin American studies
 

Lienzo de Tlaxcala
The Florentine Codex
Díaz del Castillo, Historia verdadera de la conquista de la Nueva España

Latin America Originals
A series of books featuring primary source texts on colonial and nineteenth-century Latin America, translated into English



General sources

• The Aztecs and the Making of Colonial Mexico (Newberry Library online exhibit)
• early modern Spanish texts (in Spanish)
•  World Digital Library, Latin America: images, texts and maps
• Digital Library of the Caribbean
• BDMx - Biblioteca Digital Mexicana (digitized archives of the Pre-Columbian, Colonial, Independent and Revolutionary periods in Mexican history)

Images

• ARTstor (photos of museum collections)

For more information:

• Free digitized sources on Latin America (John Hopkins library guide)
• Library guide to Latin American history

Ask a Librarian
Ask a research question by phone, chat, email, or in person at the research help desk.

Research Consultation
Sign up online for an individual session with a librarian to get help with your research.