Encyclopedia of African American history, 1619-1895 : from the colonial period to the age of Frederick Douglass (print- Ref. E 185 .E545 2006)
The African American National Biography (print - Ref. E 185.96 .A4466 2008)
Black Americans in Congress (online)
The definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Provides indexing for 1,700 journals. How to export to RefWorks. Coverage: 1964-present
Over 300 journals in history and African American studies
Numerous history journals.
Direct link to
Offers full-text, full-image articles of The New York Times, going back to 1851. The database can be used to search national and international news, editorials, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, plus historical photos and advertisements. The documents are downloadable in PDF format. How to export to RefWorks
Detroit Free Press Historical
Covers several editions of the Detroit Free Press from 1831-1999.
Chicago Defender Historical
Covers several editions of the Chicago Defender newspaper from 1910-1975.
History Vault: Civil Rights and the Black Freedom Struggle
A collection of digitized primary sources documenting the civil rights movement, from the early 20th century to the 1970s with an emphasis on the 1960s. NAACP Papers are included.
The Making of Modern Michigan: local history materials from communities around the state.
The Virtual Motor City: a collection of photographs from the Detroit News hosted by the Walter P. Reuther Library.
Digital collections of Wayne State University
Digital Collections of the Detroit Public Library
African American resources at the Walter P. Reuther Library
Archives and Research Library of the Charles H. Wright Museum of African American History
The Detroit Church Project: documents on Detroit's African American churches of the 1930s and 1940s (MSU)
Hathi Trust digital library
Refworks allows you to create a personal database of references and automatically generate formatted bibliographies for your projects.
Humanities Librarian for History and Modern Languages